Summer Nationals Ahead At Williams Grove

Summer Nationals Ahead
The World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series has postponed multiple events yet again. (Julia Johnson photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. – The Champion Racing Oil Summer Nationals for the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Cars Series fires up at Williams Grove Speedway on July 26-27.

The Outlaws will invade Williams Grove for the two-day summer stand to again battle the Pennsylvania Posse sprint car stars.

The modern-day, consecutive-year history of the Summer Nationals dates back to 2002, when the show was a three-day event and Danny Lasoski, Joey Saldana and Greg Hodnett each took wins.

However events dubbed “Summer Nationals” were first contested at the oval back in 1972, with Jan Opperman and Bobbie Adamson recorded as the victors.

Both nights of this year’s Summer Nationals shows will include full programs of time trials, heats and feature events.

The July 26 Outlaws vs. Posse match will feature a 25-lap main paying $8,000 to win, while the July 27 Summer Nationals finale feature will offer $20,000 to the winner.

Only one night of Summer Nationals action was completed last season, with Lance Dewease taking the win. Dewease is viewed as a prime contender again this season.

Dewease has taken three Williams Grove wins this season, tied for second-most along with Freddie Rahmer. Dewease holds a total of five checkered flags in Summer Nationals action.

Gettysburg’s Danny Dietrich, however, seems to be the hottest driver at Williams Grove this season aboard the Gary Kauffman No. 48. Dietrich notched his fourth oval win of the year on July 19.

Dietrich has a commanding lead over Rahmer in the season point standings and appears ready to make the most of his Outlaws chances this coming weekend.

The Outlaws circuit rolls into the Williams Grove Champion Racing Oil Summer Nationals with California’s Brad Sweet leading the pack aboard Kasey Kahne’s No. 49 sprinter.

Sweet is having a banner year with the Outlaws in 2019, carrying 11 wins into the Keystone State, including a $175,000 victory in the Kings Royal at Eldora Speedway.

Perennial champion Donny Schatz of North Dakota, who has six wins, is trailing Sweet in the series point standings.

Outlaw regulars Logan Schuchart and David Gravel also have four wins on the series to date this season.

A former track regular with a pair of tour wins this season, Oklahoma’s Daryn Pittman will also be looking to put his Dennis Roth-owned No. 83 back at the front of the field when he gets to Williams Grove this week.

Pittman traditionally runs well when he returns to Williams Grove and, in fact, scored Summer Nationals wins while driving for Reeve Kruck in 2006 and 2008, as well as for Kahne in 2016.

Schatz has a total of six wins in Summer Nationals action, however, he has been winless in the summer doubleheader since 2013.

Since 2013, of the nine Summer Nationals races held, local drivers have scored eight of them. Pittman is the only driver in that span to break the Posse stronghold on the races.


Advertisement - Article Bottom