USAC Stars Chasing Gas City & Kokomo Success

USAC Stars Chasing
Kevin Thomas Jr. and Brady Bacon have each won USAC events at both Gas City I-69 Speedway and Kokomo Speedway. (Ryan Sellers photo)

INDIANAPOLIS – Gas City I-69 Speedway and Kokomo Speedway lie just about 45 minutes apart, virtually a straight shot from one another just north of Indianapolis.

Though each race track is listed as a quarter-mile length of dirt, each track possesses its own characteristics.

One has a surrounding concrete wall, the other does not. One has slightly more banking than the other, and so on and so forth.

When you put the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series and the NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series on the same event card, such as it is for this weekend’s Indiana Donor Network Driven2SaveLives Double Double, several drivers will hop between both types of cars at both race tracks.

Digging through the records, no driver has checked all four boxes in play this weekend, with USAC National Sprint Car wins and USAC National Midget victories at both venues.

Some have come close over the years to scoring all four, with four drivers reigning victorious in three of those four categories.

A USAC National Midget Series win at Gas City is the only item that eluded Bryan Clauson, the winner of a single USAC sprint car race at Gas City and four at Kokomo, plus three midget scores at Kokomo.

Oddly enough, the same missing puzzle piece eludes all four individuals, with Tyler Courtney, Kevin Thomas Jr. and J.J. Yeley also emerging triumphantly in USAC sprint competition at both Gas City and Kokomo as well as in a midget at Kokomo, but with no hardware to show in a midget at Gas City.

In all, an impressive array of 22 different drivers have won USAC national features at both Gas City and Kokomo.

Brady Bacon and Tracy Hines have flip-flopped with a sprint win at Gas City and a midget victory at Kokomo, or in Bacon’s case, three midget wins at Kokomo. On the other hand, Justin Grant notched a USAC midget win at Gas City and with the sprint car at Kokomo.

Nine drivers have won with the USAC sprint cars only at both Gas City and Kokomo in their careers, with the likes of past series champions Dave Darland, Jay Drake, Levi Jones, C.J. Leary and Chris Windom doing so along with top-tier racers Cory Kruseman, Hunter Schuerenberg, Jon Stanbrough and Chase Stockon.

Meanwhile, six more have earned midget victories at the two tracks, including four series champions in Spencer Bayston, Darren Hagen, Brad Kuhn and Tanner Thorson.

Kyle Larson – the jack of all racing trades in 2020 – has also won at both in a USAC midget, as has international racing star Michael Pickens, from New Zealand.

The cream rises to the top in terms of versatility and drivers finding success at different venues and in the seats of different types of racecars, all in quick succession.

This weekend’s Double Double runs the gamut in versatility, and fans will get to witness who will grab their pen and checking off one (or more) of those boxes off this weekend.


Advertisement - Article Bottom