Six Past Winners Headline Bettenhausen 100 Entries

Six Past Winners
Defending Illinois State Fairgrounds USAC Silver Crown winner Chris Windom (17) leads a pack of cars in 2018 at the one-mile dirt oval. (Mark Funderburk photo)

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. – The field for Saturday’s 58th running of the Bettenhausen 100 presented by Brandt at the Illinois State Fairgrounds is filled with past winners on the legendary Springfield Mile.

Brian Tyler leads all drivers in the lineup with four Bettenhausen 100 victories, coming in 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2011. A.J. Fike won back-to-back Bettenhausen 100 races in 2012 and 2013, just as Kody Swanson did in 2014 and 2015.

Meanwhile, Russ Gamester prepares for his 26th career start in the race, which ranks third all-time and includes a triumph in 1998. Justin Grant captured the first of his two career USAC Silver Crown victories in 2017 at Springfield, while Chris Windom is the defending Springfield winner and swept both Illinois dirt mile races on the schedule last year.

Fike and Windom are among nine Illinois natives in the lineup, along with two-time DuQuoin Silver Crown winner Shane Cockrum, plus another pair of past DuQuoin Mile winners in Shane Cottle and Chris Urish.

Joey Moughan, Korey Weyant, Patrick Lawson and Terry Babb are the other Illinois natives entered.

The last time the Silver Crown cars graced a one-mile dirt oval, Tyler Courtney was the victor in May’s Hoosier Hundred at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. He led a race-high 49 laps last year at Springfield.

The most recent time the series was on dirt, Brady Bacon took a wild last-lap victory at Pennsylvania’s Williams Grove Speedway in June for his first career win in a Crown car.

In fact, 17 drivers in the field have previously won in the USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series. That list includes Tyler, Fike, Swanson, Gamester, Grant, Windom, Cockrum, Cottle, Urish, Courtney and Bacon, as well as C.J. Leary, a two-time series winner seeking his first dirt mile victory.

Jeff Swindell is a three-time Silver Crown winner on dirt miles, twice at the Indiana State Fairgrounds and once at DuQuoin. Aaron Pierce owns three series wins, all on pavement, while David Byrne finished 10th at Springfield a year ago.

John Heydenreich and Eric Gordon will each return to Springfield after lengthy absences, Heydenreich last ran there in 2007, while Gordon most recent Springfield trip was in 2003.

Kevin Thomas Jr. led 42 laps and finished second in 2018 at Springfield. Steve Buckwalter  finished fifth at Springfield in 2015. Those veterans are joined by returning Bettenhausen 100-experienced wheelmen Jacob Wilson, Kyle Steffens, Kyle Robbins, Austin Nemire, Mike Haggenbottom, Matt Goodnight and Danny Long.

A Silver Crown Rookie, but a returning Springfield starter, Chris Dyson will be in the field along with a handful of drivers aiming for their first Springfield start, including Austin Mundie, Dave Berkheimer, Ronnie Wuerdeman, Dallas Hewitt and Jimmy Light.

Bettenhausen 100 Entry List

#07 – Jacob Wilson, Crawfordsville, Ind. (Wilson Brothers Racing)
#08 – Kyle Steffens, St. Louis, Mo. (Kyle Steffens)
#2 – Patrick Lawson, Edwardsville, Ill. (Patrick Lawson)
#6 – Brady Bacon, Broken Arrow, Okla. (Klatt Enterprises)
#7 – Kyle Robbins, New Castle, Ind. (KR Racing)
#9 – Chris Dyson (R), Pleasant Valley, N.Y. (Chris Dyson Racing)
#10 – C.J. Leary, Greenfield, Ind. (DMW Motorsports)
#12 – Brian Tyler, Mt. Pleasant, N.C. (Galas Motorsports)
#14 – A.J. Fike, Galesburg, Ill. (Dennis & Dave McQuinn)
#16 – Austin Nemire, Sylvania, Ohio (Nemire-Lesko Racing)
#17 – Chris Windom, Canton, Ill. (Goodnight-Byrd Racing)
#20 – Kody Swanson, Kingsburg, Calif. (Gene Nolen Racing)
#21 – Jeff Swindell, Germantown, Tenn. (Mark Swanson Encore Team)
#24 – Mike Haggenbottom, Levittown, Pa. (John Haggenbottom)
#26 – Aaron Pierce, Muncie, Ind. (Sam Pierce)
#29 – Joey Moughan, Springfield, Ill. (Joey Moughan)
#31 – Dave Berkheimer (R), Mechanicsburg, Pa. (Berkheimer Racing)
#33 – Ronnie Wuerdeman (R), Cincinnati, Ohio (Ronnie Wuerdeman)
#34 – Terry Babb, Decatur, Ill. (Ken Morford)
#39 – Matt Winchester, Winchester, Ind. (Goodnight Racing)
#40 – David Byrne, Shullsburg, Wis. (Byrne Racing)
#43 – John Heydenreich, Bloomsburg, Pa. (A.J. Felker)
#44 – Danny Long, Bonne Terre, Mo. (Danny Long)
#47 – Austin Mundie (R), Dallas, Texas (Patty Butler)
#51 – Russ Gamester, Peru, Ind. (Gamester Racing)
#53 – Steve Buckwalter, Royersford, Pa. (Five Three Motorsports)
#56 – Kevin Thomas Jr., Cullman, Ala. (Foxco Racing)
#57 – Dallas Hewitt (R), Troy, Ohio (Dallas Hewitt)
#71 – Shane Cockrum, Benton, Ill. (Hardy Boys Motorsports)
#77 – Chris Urish, Elkhart, Ill. (Chris Urish)
#78 – Eric Gordon, Fortville, Ind. (Armstrong/Slinkard Racing)
#81 – Shane Cottle, Kansas, Ill. (Curtis Williams)
#91 – Justin Grant, Ione, Calif. (Hemelgarn Racing)
#97 – Tyler Courtney, Indianapolis, Ind. (Hans Lein)
#99 – Korey Weyant (R), Springfield, Ill. (Scott Weyant)
#123 – Jimmy Light (R), West Springfield, Pa. (Two-Three Motorsports)


Advertisement - Article Bottom