McDougal Paces Ocala Midget Practice

Jason McDougal in action Thursday at Bubba Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

OCALA, Fla. –┬áJason McDougal bested all drivers in Thursday night’s Winter Dirt Games XII USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Series practice Bubba Raceway Park.

It marked the lone tune-up prior to the series’ season openers, Feb. 5-6 at the three-eighths-mile, D-shaped dirt track.

McDougal, from Broken Arrow, Okla., turned a lap of 14.080 seconds in the second session of the night to earn the top time.

He was one of five different drivers to lead a practice session during the night.

Reigning series champ Chris Windom led session one, while Kevin Thomas Jr. ended atop the third round, Buddy Kofoid paced the fourth round and Justin Grant topped the fifth set.

McDougal’s fastest overall time came aboard the Robert Dalby Motorsports/RD Spring & Stamping/Walker Performance Filtration Spike-Speedway Toyota.

Windom was the second-fastest driver overall, followed by Kofoid, series rookie Chase Randall and Grant.

Also of note, Tanner Thorson – the reigning opening night winner at Ocala – was 10th overall and defending NASCAR Cup Series champion Chase Elliott was 16th quickest.

One incident occurred during Thursday’s practice, when Robby Spino flipped hard in session three, nose-to-tail, in turn three and heavily damaged his ride.

Spino climbed out of the car under his own power.

On Friday and Saturday, the pits open at 4 p.m. ET, the front gates open at 5 p.m. and cars get on track at 6 p.m., with qualifying and racing immediately following.

The times:

1. Jason McDougal, 4, Dalby-14.080; 2. Chris Windom, 89, CB-14.088; 3. Buddy Kofoid, 67, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-14.190; 4. Chase Randall, 19AZ, Reinbold/Underwood-14.207; 5. Justin Grant, 2J, RMS-14.295; 6. Logan Seavey, 25, Malloy-14.301; 7. Tanner Carrick, 98K, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-14.316; 8. Kevin Thomas Jr., 5, Petry-14.344; 9. Emerson Axsom, 15, Petry-14.353; 10. Tanner Thorson, 88, Dave Mac-14.382; 11. Kaylee Bryson, 71, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-14.382; 12. Daison Pursley, 71K, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-14.412; 13. Noah Gass, 20G, Gass-14.441; 14. Cannon McIntosh, 08, Dave Mac-14.472; 15. Bryant Wiedeman, 01, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-14.481; 16. Chase Elliott, 84, CB-14.581; 17. Max McLaughlin, z8, Bundy Built-14.616; 18. Ethan Mitchell, 19m, Bundy Built-14.640; 19. Thomas Meseraull, 7x, RMS-14.692; 20. Hayden Reinbold, 19A, Reinbold/Underwood-14.724; 21. Trey Gropp, 21KS, Ripper-14.833; 22. Emilio Hoover, 21K, Ripper-15.009; 23. Kade Morton, 8m, Morton-15.015; 24. Andrew Felker, 57A, RAB-15.099; 25. Taylor Reimer, 25K, Dave Mac-15.133; 26. Sam Johnson, 72J, SJR-15.159; 27. Brenham Crouch, 97, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-15.193; 28. Jake Neuman, 3N, Neuman-15.252; 29. Robby Spino, 3, Neuman-15.284; 30. Michael Magic, 4m, Magic-15.635; 31. Daniel Robinson, 57K, RAB-15.704; 32. Oliver Akard, 41, OMR-NT; 33. Austin Barnhill, 17B, SJR-NT.


Advertisement - Article Bottom