Jim Hurtubise Classic On Deck At Terre Haute

Brady Bacon celebrates in victory lane after winning the 2018 Jim Hurtubise Classic at the Terre Haute Action Track. (Dallas Breeze Photo)
Brady Bacon celebrates in victory lane after winning the 2018 Jim Hurtubise Classic at the Terre Haute Action Track. (Dallas Breeze Photo)

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – Friday’s Jim Hurtubise Classic USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series race honors the most successful USAC Sprint Car driver in the early years at the Terre Haute Action Track.

Jim Hurtubise won five-straight races between 1960 and 1962. Hurtubise, a 1993 inductee into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame, first had an event in his name at the Terre Haute Action Track in 1990, less than a year following his passing, a race won by Jack Hewitt.

This year, the event enters its 20th running with two-time USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car champion Brady Bacon scoring the most recent victory at the Hurtubise Classic last September.

Bacon has had a notable run of success in the event as one of three drivers to win the Hurtubise Classic on multiple occasions, first winning in the Fall of 2014 aboard the Dynamics, Inc. No. 69.

The Terre Haute USAC one-lap track record holder from Broken Arrow, Okla. aims to become the first driver to pilot the Dynamics, Inc. to victory lane at Terre Haute twice following previous singular victories by Robbie Stanley (1993), Tracy Hines (2003) and Jerry Coons Jr. (2010).

Chris Windom is one of the three multiple-time Hurtubise Classic winners alongside Hewitt and Bacon, capturing three in 2011, ’16 and ’17.  With one more victory on Friday, he would surpass Hewitt as the winningest Hurtubise Classic driver of all-time.  Windom has won four times overall in USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car competition at Terre Haute and once in Silver Crown, plus his latest triumph there at the western Indiana dirt oval, scoring an MSCS win in August.

The very first win of Chase Stockon’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car career came right at Terre Haute during the 2012 Jim Hurtubise Classic.  The current Fort Branch, Ind., resident who grew up in nearby Sullivan, Ind., has three USAC Sprint wins overall at Terre Haute, including the Tony Hulman Classic in May of this year.  This Friday, he hopes to become USAC’s ultimate ironman.  One more start would be his 285th consecutive with the USAC National Sprint Car division, surpassing Levi Jones for the longest such streak in series history.

Tyler Courtney was the victor in the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car division’s most recent visit to Terre Haute in July during Indiana Sprint Week where he led the final nine laps for the victory. In fact, the Indianapolis, Ind. native swept the event, earning quick time in qualifying, winning his heat and pulling off the trifecta in the A-Main.  Courtney has won three of the last five at Terre Haute and is the most recent winner in the series, in August at Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway.

The last driver to win at Terre Haute before Courtney began his run of three out of five at the beginning of the 2018 season is Kevin Thomas Jr.  Thomas has won twice at the Action Track in USAC National Sprint competition.  He emerged victorious after a scintillating battle with Dave Darland during the final laps of the ISW round in 2013, then reigned supreme near the end of 2017.  Like Courtney, he’s gunning for his first Hurtubise Classic win, where he finished fifth a year ago.

So is C.J. Leary, who’s stood in victory lane once before with USAC at Terre Haute after scoring his first career National series win in a Silver Crown car at the Sumar Classic in 2016.  Leary was ninth and sixth in his two Terre Haute starts this year en route to the 121-point lead in the series standings he holds entering Friday’s race.  The Greenfield, Ind., driver was quick time in qualifying at Terre Haute in May, one of his series-leading eight this year.  He led the first five laps and finished 4th in the 2018 Hurtubise Classic.

Justin Grant led 21 laps and finished second in the series appearance at Terre Haute in July.  He took fifth in May and is fourth in the series standings entering Friday’s event at Terre Haute where he has not yet won at in USAC competition.  He owns two USAC National Sprint points-paying wins this season as well as a special event at Kokomo in August.

Jason McDougal, a winner in both USAC’s National Sprint Car and Midget series in 2019, earned a seveth place finish in his Terre Haute USAC Sprint Car debut in 2018.  He was 10th in his first Hurtubise Classic appearance last Fall and took seventh again in his return to Terre Haute this past May.

Isaac Chapple took 13th in his most recent Hurtubise Classic ride last September.  The 2016 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Rookie of the Year was the hard charger at Terre Haute back in May, finishing 10th.  He was 12th during the series return in July and resides 10th in the series standings.


Advertisement - Article Bottom