First-Time USAC Midget Winners Leaving Their Mark

First-Time USAC Midget
A stacked field has already entered (Brendon Bauman photo)

INDIANAPOLIS – Everybody has to start somewhere, and that certainly rings true for those who have won a NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series feature.

They all earned that first win somewhere, some place.

Entering this weekend’s double-dip over a three-night span, this season has already produced four first-time winners with the series, the most in any single year since 2008.

Cannon McIntosh (Southern Illinois Center), Chris Windom (Lawrenceburg), Jason McDougal (Jefferson County) and Tanner Carrick (Sweet Springs) have all already tasted victory for the first time in a USAC national midget. So who will be next?

Thursday night, the NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series invades the eighth-mile Wayne County Speedway bullring in Wayne City, Ill., for the sixth running of the Jason Leffler Memorial, a race which was won by a first-time winner in Tyler Thomas last year.

The namesake of the event, Leffler, was the winner of the second-ever race held at the “new” 16th Street Speedway, which was constructed inside the former Bush Stadium, home of AAA Baseball’s Indianapolis Indians.

That night in May of 1997 served as Leffler’s first career series win, which was also the first for car owner Pete Willoughby, a team which has thrived since that night more than two decades ago – now known as Keith Kunz Motorsports.

Leffler’s black No. 71 from his 1997 championship season remains relatively cosmetically unchanged from the cars campaigned by the team to this day for series rookie Jesse Colwell, who is on the lookout for his first series win.

The team’s No. 71K was victorious this year with another first-time USAC winner, Carrick, at Missouri’s Sweet Springs Motorsports Complex.

Windom joined an interesting and exclusive club of drivers who’ve won a USAC National Sprint Car Series championship prior to winning their first career USAC National Midget Series feature, along with Greg Leffler and Levi Jones.

On Saturday, Oct. 19, the series heads across the border over to Haubstadt, Indiana’s Tri-State Speedway for the 10th appearance by the mighty midgets of USAC.

Three of the first nine of those events have produced first-time USAC National Midget feature winners: New Zealand’s Barry Butterworth (1979), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2007) and Zach Daum (2011).

Many contenders lie in wait for their turn to live out their aspirations of joining the list of USAC National Midget Series winners.

Among them are USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car point leader C.J. Leary, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Andrew Layser, Colwell, Karsyn Elledge, Holley Hollan, Ethan Mitchell and yes, 2013 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion Daryn Pittman, who will make his annual appearance at Thursday’s Leffler Memorial.


Advertisement - Article Bottom