Courtney Headlines Shamrock Classic Entries

Chris Windom (89) and Tyler Courtney (7BC) have both entered the Shamrock Classic. (Todd Ridgeway photo)

DUQUOIN, Ill. – Three past USAC national champions, all seeking their first Shamrock Classic victory, are among those headlining the initial entry list for the fifth annual NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget event on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center.

Tyler Courtney is the reigning series champion and finished seventh in last year’s Shamrock Classic after starting 21st.  He is also a past victor in USAC Midget competition at the sixth-mile indoor dirt oval, capturing the non-points special event Junior Knepper 55 in December of 2016.

Brady Bacon, the 2014 and 2016 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car champion, is undefeated thus far in USAC National features in 2020, sweeping both nights in a USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla., in mid-February.  He’s one of two drivers to have started in the feature event of all four previous editions of the Shamrock Classic, with fourth-place finishes in both 2016 and 2017 serving as his best result. He also took 14th in 2018 and 18th in his most recent start in 2019.

Chris Windom leads the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget standings entering the event following a victory on the second night of the Winter Dirt Games in Ocala, Fla. The 2016 USAC Silver Crown and 2017 National Sprint Car champ took ninth in his first Shamrock Classic start a year ago.

Among the other early Shamrock Classic midget entries include 2019 USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Rookie of the Year, Andrew Layser, who comes into the event off his best career series result of third in Ocala and finished eighth in his Shamrock debut in 2019.

Tyler Nelson, a USAC Regional Midget winner at Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway in 2019 and a Shamrock Classic starter in 2018, is entered and will be joined by last year’s USAC Western States Midget champion Robert Dalby, five-time USAC Western States Midget champion Ronnie Gardner and 2017 USAC Gulf Coast Midget champ Kyle Jones, all of whom are eying their first Shamrock Classic starts.

2020 Shamrock Classic Entry List (As of Feb. 25)

4 Roby Dalby/Anaheim, CA (Robert Dalby Motorsports)
5o Anthony Nicholson/Millington, TN (Hagar-Proctor Racing)
7BC Tyler Courtney/Indianapolis, IN (Clauson Marshall Racing)
7m Ronnie Gardner/Corona, CA (Iron Dome/Moonshine Motorsports)
7R Kyle Jones/Kennedale, TX (Iron Dome/Moonshine Motorsports)
9JR Derek Hagar/Marion, AR (Hagar Proctor Racing)
11m Kendall Ruble/Vincennes, IN (Martin’s Motorsports)
13 Austin Yarbrough/Myrtle Beach, SC (McGee Racing)
21H Brady Bacon/Broken Arrow, OK (Kelly Hinck)
39BC Cole Bodine/Rossville, IN (Clauson Marshall Racing)
56AP Riley Kreisel/Warsaw, MO (Travis Young)
57D Aiden Purdue/Clinton, IL (McCreery Motorsports)
72 Sam Johnson/St. Peters, MO (Sam Johnson)
82 Andrew Layser/Collegeville, PA (Tucker-Boat Motorsports)
88 Tyler Nelson/Olathe, KS (Tyler Nelson)
89 Chris Windom/Canton, IL (Tucker-Boat Motorsports)
91 Andy Bishop/Harrisburg, IL (Jack Harris Racing)
91x Craig Oakes/Marshall, TX (Mounce Motorsports)
95 Chris Andrews/Tulsa, OK (Miller Racing)


Advertisement - Article Bottom