Corn Belt Nationals Entry List Up To 43 Cars

Corn Belt Nationals Entry
Forty-three cars have entered the second annual Corn Belt Nationals at Knoxville Raceway so far. (Ray Hague photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – The entry list for the second annual Brandt Corn Belt Nationals at Knoxville Raceway stands at 43 cars ahead of this weekend’s two-night special.

The event, July 10-11, will feature the stars of both the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series and the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint Car League.

Among the most recent pairings to confirm their participation are Shane Cottle and Hodges Motorsports. Cottle and the New Mexico-based Hodges team scored a recent triumph in USAC National Sprint Car competition at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind.

Cottle drove from sixth to first in the first nine laps of the 30-lap feature to capture his and the Hodges team’s first USAC victory together and his second overall.

Cottle joins recent entrants Brandon Halverson and Glen Saville among those competing this weekend at the Sprint Car Capital of the World, which includes a grand prize of $20,000 for the winner of Saturday night’s feature.

Oklahoma’s Brady Bacon, a two-time USAC National Sprint Car champion who followed Cottle as Saturday night’s winner in the Bill Gardner Sprintacular at Lincoln Park, is undefeated at the Corn Belt Nationals after sweeping both nights of the inaugural event.

He dominated both ends of the inaugural Brandt Professional Agriculture Corn Belt Nationals in 2019, walking away with a two-night total of $25,000 between his two victories. Bacon also won a USAC sprint race at Knoxville in 2011.

A slew of USAC champions, standouts, stars and race winners for the event includes six drivers who’ve won driving championships in USAC national competition, including USAC National Sprint Car and USAC National Midget champion Tyler Courtney.

Courtney was a 2018 series winner at Knoxville.

Additional USAC champions entered for the event so far are 2015 sprint car titlist Robert Ballou, 2016 USAC National Midget champion Tanner Thorson, defending sprint car king C.J. Leary and USAC Triple Crown champion Dave Darland.

Darland is the winningest driver in USAC National Sprint Car history with 62 victories.

Additional AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car winners entered include 2017 Knoxville USAC sprint winner Justin Grant, Kevin Thomas Jr., Chase Stockon and Carson Short.

2013-14 USAC Western Classic Sprint Car champion Ryan Bernal is entered as are recent USAC Midwest Wingless Racing Ass’n winners Wyatt Burks and Wesley Smith.

Past Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway sprint car champion Clinton Boyles and two-time POWRi WAR Sprint League champion and current series point leader Riley Kreisel plan to join in on the fun as well.

All drivers and teams competing in the event that possess an AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car license will be awarded 50 appearance points each night of the Corn Belt Nationals, which will go toward the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car championship standings.

Brandt Corn Belt Nationals Entry List (43 cars as of July 6)

Car No. – Driver – Hometown

0 – Brandon Stevenson – Holstein, IA
0s – Steve Irwin – Fenton, Mich.
1m – Don Droud Jr. – Lincoln, Neb.
2 – Jason Billups – Holt, Mo.
2c – Zach Clark – Olathe, Kan.
4 – Justin Grant – Ione, Calif.
4t – Josh Castro – Peoria, Ariz.
4x – Braydon Cromwell – Lone Jack, Mo.
5 – Chuck Alexander – Chariton, Iowa
5s – Chase Stockon – Fort Branch, Ind.
6 – Mario Clouser – Auburn, Ill.
7 – Clinton Bruns – Little Rock, Iowa
7bc – Tyler Courtney – Indianapolis, Ind.
9k – Kevin Thomas Jr. – Cullman, Ala.
9w – Justin Zimmerman – Athens, Texas
11w – Wyatt Burks – Topeka, Kan.
12 – Robert Ballou – Rocklin, Calif.
12s – Wesley Smith – Nixa, Mo.
13 – Dennis Gile – Phoenix, Ariz.
13mj – Brandon Halverson – Jackson, Minn.
16 – Anthony Nicholson – Millington, Tenn.
17 – Nick Bilbee – Indianapolis, Ind.
17gp – Ryan Bernal – Hollister, Calif.
18 – Terry Richards – Denton, Neb.
19az – Tanner Thorson – Minden, Nev.
19L – Glen Saville – Razorback, Australia
24 – Brian VanMeveren – Woodbury, Minn.
27 – Steve Thomas – Ludlow, Ill.
30 – C.J. Leary – Greenfield, Ind.
33m – Matt Westfall – Pleasant Hill, Ohio
36d – Dave Darland – Lincoln, Ind.
48 – Neal Matuska – Waukee, Iowa
67 – Jonathan Hughes – Knoxville, Iowa
69 – Brady Bacon – Winchester, Ind.
71p – Carson Short – Marion, Ill.
73 – Samuel Wagner – Lone Jack, Mo.
74x – Shane Cottle – Kansas, Ill.
75 – Dustin Clark – Washington, Ind.
77 – Dustin Smith – Russiaville, Ind.
77j – Jack Wagner – Lone Jack, Mo.
90 – Clinton Boyles – Greenwood, Mo.
91 – Riley Kreisel – Warsaw, Mo.
ST1 – Lane Stone – Concordia, Mo.


Advertisement - Article Bottom