Tyler Thomas Cops POWRi Cash

Tyler Thomas

ELDON, Mo. — In an exciting race that saw a handful of different leaders, Tyler Thomas outlasted them all to complete a ninth-to-first charge for his 14th POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League victory on Sunday night at Lake Ozark Speedway.

Winning his heat from seventh, Cannon McIntosh secured PAC Racing Springs #HighPointMan honors and put his Dave Mac Motorsports No. 08 on the pole.

Looking to redeem himself after a mechanical issue stripped him from the lead with five laps left on Saturday night, the 16-year old star was determined to find redemption and quickly took command in Sunday’s show.

While the race heated up and the lead changed hands, Tucker Klaasmeyer moved his Keith Kunz-Curb Agajanian Motorsports No. 27 to the point on the sixth circuit. His lead lasted until just shy of the halfway point when Zach Daum guided his No. 5D entry by Klaasmeyer and took command himself.

Meanwhile, Thomas was roaring through the pack aboard his BT Machine, Spike/Toyota No. 91t and thanks to a well-timed caution was set to restart right behind Daum and Klaasmeyer. Driving into the top spot and storming by them all, Thomas shot past Klaasmeyer and then made work of Daum to take the lead on lap 22.

Chasing Thomas to the stripe was Tucker Klaasmeyer with a second-place effort. Zach Daum, Michael Pickens and Thomas Meseraull rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 91T-Tyler Thomas (9); 2. 27-Tucker Klaasmeyer (3); 3. 5D-Zach Daum (4); 4. 1NZ-Michael Pickens (5); 5. 7X-Thomas Meseraull (7); 6. 67-Holley Hollan (6); 7. 71-Jesse Colwell (18) 8. 9-Daison Pursley (10); 9. 08-Cannon McIntosh (1); 10. 44S-Andrew Felker (8); 11. 97-Maria Cofer (16); 12. 42-Hank Davis (14); 13. 97K-Jesse Love (11); 14. 3N-Ace McCarthy (13); 15. 28-Jake Neuman (24); 16. 32-Trey Marcham (17); 17. 20G-Noah Gass (25); 18. 00-Luke Howard (15); 19. 8M-Kade Morton (20); 20. 15-Carson Garrett (19); 21. 2H-Jordan Howell (22); 22. 72-Sam Johnson (12); 23. 321-Chad Winfrey (23); 24. 71K-Tanner Carrick (2); 25. 7JR-JD Black (21). 



Advertisement - Article Bottom