BELLEVILLE, Ill. – Logan Seavey was a man on a mission entering Sunday night’s POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League feature at Belle-Clair Speedway, and he accomplished the goal in style.

Seavey started from the outside pole and led all the way to capture his 12th POWRi win of the season at the fifth-mile, semi-banked dirt oval.

The Sutter, Calif., young gun was never seriously threatened during the 30-lap Charlene Meents Memorial, driving to a .885-second victory over polesitter Andrew Felker on a challenging surface.

“It feels good just to finish on a race track like that,” said Seavey in victory lane. “She was rough, and it makes it fun, but it makes it tough as a driver to maneuver around the race track and stay on all four wheels. It’s fun to get that every once in a while, though, and cowboy up a little bit. I’m sure it made a heck of a race to watch and it’s exciting for the fans.

“I tried to rip the top the whole race and it seemed like as the race went on, it got harder and harder to run up there,” Seavey added. “We had to move around in lap traffic, and my car was able to go everywhere. That’s just what you need to do to win these races.”

Logan Seavey celebrates in victory lane at Tri-State Speedway on Sunday night. (Mark Coffman photo)

Seavey’s win broke the previous record of 11 triumphs in a single POWRi season, set by one of Seavey’s predecessors and mentors at Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports – Christopher Bell.

It was fitting then, that on the same night Bell won with the World of Outlaws at Tri-State Speedway in Indiana, Seavey eclipsed Bell’s 2014 mark with the most impressive year-long run in POWRi history.

“That’s pretty cool,” said Seavey. “I always say that just to be racing midgets is a dream come true for me. To be out here with Keith Kunz Motorsports and put a season like this together is just a dream come true and it’s unbelievable.

“Hopefully we’ve got a lot more racing to go yet and hopefully we can just keep on winning.”

Only two cautions interrupted Seavey’s march to victory with the No. 67 Mobil 1 Bullet by Spike/Speedway Toyota. The first waved with six laps scored for the stalled car of Daniel Adler on the frontstretch, and the second came at halfway for Broc Hunnell, also stopped on the main straight.

On both of the ensuing restarts, Felker threw everything he could muster at Seavey, to no avail.

Seventeen-year-old Buddy Kofoid, in his second-career POWRi start, finished on the podium for the second night in a row with a third-place run behind Seavey and Felker.

TRD Hard Charger Cannon McIntosh rolled from 23rd to fourth after taking a provisional due to engine woes before the B-main, with Jesse Colwell extending his POWRi points lead by crossing the line fifth.

Colwell now leads Zach Daum, who came home ninth, by 50 points in the race for the season title.

To view complete race results, advance to the next page.


Advertisement - Article Bottom