Meseraull Tops Jacksonville POWRi Run

Thomas Meseraull battles Ace McCarthy at Jacksonville Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)
Thomas Meseraull battles Ace McCarthy at Jacksonville Speedway. (Mark Funderburk photo)

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — Thomas Meseraull took his No. 7X Toyota-powered midget to POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League victory lane for the first time this season Friday night at Jacksonville Speedway.

Taking the green flag from the pole and never looking back, Meseraull led all 30 laps to conquer the 21-car field.

Meseraull and Karter Sarff sat side by side on the front row to bring the field to green. Chase McDermand and Jake Neuman made up the second row, all four cars entered turn one and two side by side at the drop of the green.

Meseraull took the topside while all the drivers tried the bottom. Eventually the field followed and elected to run the top. Meseraull, with only eight laps in found himself behind heavy lapped traffic. The red flag came out on lap 10 for Noah Gass, who got upside down.

Going back green, Meseraull took the top side again and Ace McCarthy made a strong move and put himself in the third position as the yellow came out for Austin Wood on lap 12 as he spun in turn two.

With 18 laps remaining, McCarthy sat in the third position and threw a massive slide job and take over the second position from Sarff. Zach Daum was behind in fourth and Tucker Klaasmeyer made his way into the fifth position from ninth.

Mitchell Davis had a hiccup in turn three and four, gathered himself back up and catches the cushion on the entrance of turn one and found himself upside down and brought out the red flag.

On the restart with a little under halfway to go, teammates Clinton Boyles, and Chase McDermand running fifth and sixth get together and cause a yellow. Klaasmeyer electing to go to the bottom, made his way up to third place and set his sights on McCarthy and Meseraull. Klaasmeyer reeled in McCarthy stole second place on lap 22. With only three laps remaining, Dalton Camfield got upside down and the red flag waved.

Meseraull led the field to a green-white-checkered finish. Meseraull walked away as Klaasmeyer and McCarthy battled it out for the runner up position. Meseraull made his way around to the checkered flag. Klaasmeyer finished second, ahead of McCarthy, Trey Gropp and Sarff.

“The last time we were here, I felt like we had a car to, and I got caught up in some racing deals,” Meseraull said. “I’m just excited to park it here up on the front stretch. Hats off to everybody who comes out and supports us for the last race of the year. We love you guys, hope to see you next year.”

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. 7-Thomas Meseraull 2. 49-Tucker Klaasmeyer   3. 28-Ace McCarthy 4. 21-Trey Gropp 5. 55-Karter Sarff 6. 40-Chase McDermand 7. 21KS-Zach Daum 8. 3N-Jake Neuman   9. 3W-Brandon Waelti 10. 27X- Austin Wood 11. 93-Devin Camfield 12. 10-Amber Balcaen 13. 6- Rayce Rudy 14. 10C-Dalton Camfield   15. 16C- David Camfield   16. 97A- Mitchell Davis   17. 98-Clinton Boyles   18. 00-Korey Weyant   19. 5T-Ryan Timms   20. 21G-Corbin Gurley 21. 20G-Noah Gass



Advertisement - Article Bottom