Meseraull Motors To POWRi Glory

Thomas Meseraull

ELDON, Mo. — Capitalizing on Cannon McIntosh’s late-race misfortune, Thomas Meseraull assumed the lead with five laps remaining on Saturday night at Lake Ozark Speedway and held on for his fourth POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League victory.

With 24 cars in attendance for the POWRi National / West Midget show, a trio of heat races were presented to the enticed Labor Day weekend crowd.

As Zach Daum and Meseraull brought the 24-car field to life in the main event, it was T-Mez powering his Matt Estep owned, Envirofab, Spike/Toyota No. 7x to the point. Commanding the opening six laps, Meseraull was quickly chased by fourth-starter Cannon McIntosh, who maneuvered by Daum and set his sights on the race lead.

Taking the top spot on lap seven, McIntosh wheeled his Dave Mac Motorsports, Drive WFX, Spike/Toyota No. 08 to the front and looked to cash in for his first-career POWRi National Midget triumph.

Driving away and holding a tight grasp on the lead, it looked as if McIntosh was finally due to break his spell of bad luck and strike gold with that elusive victory. However, heartbreak soon ensued, as mechanical issues on lap 25 saw the Bixby, Okla., 16-year old retire from the lead in devastating fashion.

Assuming the lead in the midst of McIntosh’s woes, Meseraull was back at the point and had only five laps separating himself from the checkered flag. The San Jose, Calif. native survived the final restart with ease and ran away to victory.

Rounding out the top five behind Meseraull were Daum, Jesse Colwell, Tucker Klaasmeyer and Michael Pickens.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 7X-Thomas Meseraull (2); 2. 5D-Zach Daum (1); 3. 71-Jesse Colwell (6); 4. 27-Tucker Klaasmeyer (10); 5. 1NZ-Michael Pickens (8); 6. 67-Holley Hollan (3); 7. 91T-Tyler Thomas (20); 8. 32-Trey Marcham (12); 9. 97K-Jesse Love (5); 10. 42-Hank Davis (11); 11. 9-Daison Pursley (17); 12. 20G-Noah Gass (16); 13. 97-Maria Cofer (21); 14. 2H-Jordan Howell (22); 15. 08-Cannon McIntosh (4); 16. 7M-Chance Morton (7); 17. 44S-Andrew Felker (14); 18. 8M-Kade Morton (19); 19. 00-Luke Howard (18); 20. 21KS-C.J. Leary (13); 21. 3N-Jake Neuman (9); 22. 28-Ace McCarthy (15); 23. 71K-Tanner Carrick (23); 24. 3321-Chad Winfrey (24).



Advertisement - Article Bottom