Wolfe, Madsen Confirm World Series Plans

Lucas Wolfe is among the five drivers confirmed to chase the World Series Sprintcars championship.
Lucas Wolfe is among the five drivers confirmed to chase the World Series Sprintcars championship.

SYDNEY, Australia – Officials from the World Series Sprintcars have confirmed the first five drivers for the 2019/20 season.

Headlining the list of drivers is veteran Kerry Madsen, who will pilot the Krikke Motorsports No. w2 machine. Krikke Motorsports is celebrating its 20th consecutive season of World Series competition.

“To be heading into our 20th straight World Series season is quite incredible considering that back in 1999, we initially planned to contest the championship for one season only, just to be able to say we’d done it,” admitted team principal Ryan Krikke.

The five-time World Series championship team fell agonisingly short of a sixth title last season, with Madsen losing the title in the final race at Perth Motorplex.

“We’re aiming for nothing less than another championship win in our 20th season, which would be extremely special, and with Kerry Madsen in the driver’s seat once again, we’re confident that it’s an achievable goal,” Krikke said.

One driver keen to spoil the party for Krikke Motorsport is American star Lucas Wolfe. The World of Outlaws feature winner will make his debut as a World Series Sprintcars-contracted driver in 2019/20, at the wheel of his familiar Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer No. 5w.

The Pennsylvania native is no stranger to World Series competition, having stood on the podium on two occasions. This season will see Wolfe make his first tilt at an outright World Series championship, as he teams up with Queensland-based Ayers Motorsport.

Regarded by many as one of the staples of World Series Sprintcars in recent years, Western Australia’s Jason Pryde will line up for his fifth-straight year as a contract driver in 2019/20, at the wheel of his Austwide Communications No. w14.

Jason Pryde Motorsport will once again be headed by crew chief Jono Coyle, as New Zealand-born Pryde will look to build on a successful 2018/19 campaign which saw him place 10th in the World Series Sprintcars standings – his third top-10 finish in four tries.

Having made history in 2018 as the youngest ever World Series Quick Time Award winner, Tasmania’s Jock Goodyer will become one of the youngest contracted drivers ever as he prepares to contest his first full-time World Series Sprintcars campaign in the DB Goodyer Developments No. T22.

The most recent season was a breakout season for Goodyer, cementing him as one of the future stars of the sport with performances that belie his tender age of just 18 years old. This included winning the Tasmanian Sprintcar Championship at Latrobe, together with a string of standout performances in select World Series events in Victoria and Queensland.

Now teamed up with the vastly experienced crew chief Glen Beaton, Goodyer could prove the surprise driver of 2019/20.

Another returning competitor is four-time World Series Sprintcar champion James McFadden. Much like Kerry Madsen, 2018/19 saw McFadden and his Monte Motorsport No. w17 come close to a fifth World Series title, with unforced errors eliminating them from title contention at the final round in Perth.

After a successful overseas campaign, which saw McFadden claim a string of race wins across the U.S. – including the prestigious Knoxville 360 Nationals for car owner and former NASCAR star Kasey Kahne, McFadden will be out to establish himself once again as the benchmark driver in World Series competition.


Advertisement - Article Bottom