Sprint Poll Names Hafertepe Top 360 Driver

Sam Hafertepe Jr. will pursue the Ollie's Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions title this year. (Brendon Bauman photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Sam Hafertepe Jr. was voted the Driver of the Year by the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers for the fourth year in a row.

Hafertepe is now a four-time American Sprint Car Series national tour champion and earned 13 of the 16 first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll.

Hill’s Racing, owner for Hafertepe’s No. 15h earned the Team of the Year award for the second consecutive year. Terry Gray, Jack Dover and a’s Troy DeCaire also received first place votes.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are Short Track Nationals winner Blake Hahn, nine-time winner Mark Smith, Placerville Speedway champ Andy Forsberg of Auburn and USCS titlist Gray.

Rounding out the top 10 for the season are Ohsweken Speedway champ Dylan Westbrook, Midwest Power Series titlist Thomas Kennedy, Patriot Sprint Tour National champ Davie Franek, URC champ Chad Layton and MSTS king Jack Dover.

Austin Bishop of Illinois earned the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll Rookie of the Year title in his first full season of winged 360-cubic-inch sprint car competition. Jack & Bonnie Elam of J&J Auto Racing (for the 16th time) earned Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors.

In addition, Todd Buffenbarger (TJSlideways.com) will receive the Media Member of the Year award for the third time. Dave Pusateri, Trophy Cup promoter, received Promoter of the Year honors for the first time and Westbrook will receive the Wild Card Award for his exciting performances in 360 sprint car racing.



Advertisement - Article Bottom