Mollenoyux Takes Avalon Raceway Checkers

Mollenoyux Takes Avalon
Darren Mollenoyux in victory lane. (Avalon Raceway photo)

LARA, Australia –¬†Boxing Day at Avalon Raceway turned into a scorching night of racing, with Darren Mollenoyux nearly sweeping the program with the Eureka Garage and Sheds Sprint Car Series.

Mollenoyux set fast time in qualifying, won his first round heat, finished second in his second round heat and then won the 30-lap sprint car main event.

The race was sanctioned by the Sprint Car Racing Association of Victoria.

Mollenoyux took the point after Jye Okeeffe paced the first 10 circuits, then never gave it up again after that. He took the checkered flag 3.125 seconds clear of Tim Van Ginneken.

Jack Lee completed the podium, followed by Brett Milburn and Paul Solomon.

Mark Carlin, Bobby Daly, Terry Rankin, Jordyn Charge and Grant Anderson were the remainder of the top-10 finishers.

The finish:

1. V3-Darren Mollenoyux; 2. V44-Tim Van Ginneken; 3. V25-Jack Lee; 4. V68-Brett Milburn; 5. V7-Paul Solomon; 6. VA12-Mark Carlin; 7. V8-Bobby Daly; 8. VA29-Terry Rankin; 9. V60-Jordyn Charge; 10. V37-Grant Anderson; 11. V98-Peter Doukas; 12. VA88-Grant Stansfield; 13. V73-Charles Hunter; 14. V45-Mike Van Bremen; 15. V70-John Vogels; 16. VA81-Rhys Baxter; 17. V72-Jacob Smith; 18. V42-Jye Okeeffe.


Advertisement - Article Bottom