Lincoln Honors Montieth & Hammaker As Champions

Brian Montieth in victory lane at Lincoln Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)

YORK, Pa. – The 2019 Lincoln Speedway racing season officially came to a close on Saturday night with the annual awards banquet at the Wyndham Garden.

Track champions and special award honorees were recognized, along with the top 10 in points from both the 410 and 358 sprint car divisions.

Brian Montieth claimed his eighth Lincoln Speedway track title in an exciting point battle that took the chase for the championship down to the last race.

Going into the final point race of the season Montieth, Alan Krimes and Chad Trout were all mathematically in the picture for the championship. With Montieth’s third-place finish on Aug. 31, he was able to seal the deal and take home the title.

Notably, Montieth’s fourth and final win of the season was his biggest of the year. Montieth claimed his second Dirt Classic with his Dirt Classic 6 win on Sept. 21, banking $20,000.

Montieth’s point title also won Scott Zellers Mechanic of the Year honors. Overall, he had four wins, 14 top-five finishes and 16 top-10 finishes in his championship campaign.

After battling Montieth down to the wire for the track championship, Krimes finished second in the season standings after scoring two wins early, along with 10 top fives and 19 top-10 finishes.

Coming off his most improved driver award in 2018, Trout was also in the mix for the points title going into the last race of the season. Trout finished third with his first career PA Speedweek win, to boot. Trout racked up seven top-five and 15 top-10 finishes in 2019.

Completing the top five in points were Chase Dietz, who landed in victory lane for his fourth career win at the track in 2019, and Jim Siegel, who was unable to score a win but had a consistent and successful year with three top-five and 19 top-10 finishes.

The 410 sprints rans 27 races in 2019, with 16 different winners and five first-time winners: Brett Michalski, Jeff Halligan, Matt Campbell, Skylar Gee and Ryan Smith.

Receiving rookie of the year honors after making the jump from 358 to 410 sprints in 2019 was Trey Hivner. Hivner had two top-10s and one top-five finish. His top-five run was a third-place finish on June 15 in the make-up feature from May 25.

Landon Myers’ Most Improved Driver campaign included three top-10s, a top-five finish and 14th place in the point standings at the end of the season.

Myers finished an impressive 12th in the World of Outlaws Gettysburg Clash in May.

Glenndon Forsythe took home the 410 sprint division’s Sportsmanship Award.

In his second-career 358 sprint division championship campaign at Lincoln, Doug Hammaker only finished outside the top 10 once all season.

Hammaker ended the year with four wins, 16 top fives and 19 top 10s. His lone finish outside the top 10 was a 15th-place finish in the second race of the year on March 30.

The most notable part of Hammaker’s season was a six-feature stretch in the month of June, where he averaged a 3.5 finish across the six races, including a top-10 in the 358/360 Challenge race on June 8.

Matt Findley scored his second career win at Lincoln on Sept. 14 on his way to a second-place finish in the season point standings. Findley also tallied six top-five and 14 top-10 finishes in 2019.

Cody Fletcher highlighted his third-place finish in points with his first career win at Lincoln during the May 4 make-up feature on June 1. In an impressive year, Fletcher scored six top-five and 14 top-10 finishes.

Young gun Dylan Norris and another first-time winner, Ashley Cappetta, completed the top five in points. Cappetta scored her first Lincoln victory on Aug. 10.

There were 21 races run by the 358 sprints in 2019, with 12 different winners, including four first-time winners: Fletcher, Cappetta, Steve Owings and Jon Stewart.

Zachary Cool earned Rookie of the Year honors in the 358 sprint division. Cool placed in the top-10 twice in his rookie campaign in 2019.

The Most Improved Driver in 358 sprint competition during 2019 was awarded to Zachary Allman. The highlight of Allman’s season was his podium finish in April.

He also finished in the top 10 twice and was consistent throughout the season.

Wyatt Hinkle took the 358 sprint division Sportsmanship Award.

A new award was implemented at the 2019 banquet, the Leiby Achievement Ward in memory of Bob Leiby.

The inaugural recipients of the award were Bobby & Lisa Leiby and Wanda & Don Leiby.


Advertisement - Article Bottom