Kyle Larson Named Top 410 Sprint Car Driver

Kyle Larson has been named the 410 Sprint Car Driver of the Year. (Dan Demarco photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – For the first time in his career, Kyle Larson was voted the Driver of the Year by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers.

Larson racked up more tham 30 wins in a 410 sprint car in 2020. He was the leading feature winner with both the World of Outlaws and All Stars and his wins included the Capitani Classic at Knoxville Raceway, the Ironman 55 in Pevely, Mo., the Brad Doty Classic at Attica, a Pennsylvania Speedweek title and much more.

Larson earned 11 of the 13 first-place votes cast in the year-end poll conducted by the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum.

World of Outlaws champion Brad Sweet and Donny Schatz also received first place votes.

Those drivers who ranked second through fifth, respectively, were Sweet, Logan Schuchart, Schatz and David Gravel.

Rounding out the top 10 for the season, respectively, were All Star champion Aaron Reutzel, Sheldon Haudenschild, Danny Dietrich, Cory Eliason and Carson Macedo.

Team owner Paul Silva, who fielded the No. 57 sprint car driven by Larson this year, was named the winner of the 410 Team of the Year honors. Silva is a two-time 360 Team of the Year recipient.

Larson was also voted the Wild Card Award Award winner for the eighth time in his career for his exciting 410 sprint car performances in 2020. Zeb Wise of Indiana was named the Rookie of the Year in the 410 class after a successful campaign with the All Stars.

In addition to his other honors, Larson was also named the winner of the Thomas J. Schmeh Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sport.

Larson contributed not only on the track but off, continuing to own a top-10 team with the World of Outlaws with Macedo behind the wheel.

Steve O’Neal of Port Royal Speedway earned Promoter of the Year honors for the fifth time in a row. Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors in the 410 poll went to Andy Durham of Ford Motor Co.

The Media Member of the Year Award was shared by Jacob Seelman of SPEED SPORT and Sprint Car & Midget and Michael Rigsby of Both are first time recipients.

The North American 410 Sprint Car Poll is an annual awards program of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum. All awards will be distributed in 2021 at tracks throughout North America.

The awards are annually announced during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals in Tulsa, Okla.


Advertisement - Article Bottom