It’s Amerson In Helton Memorial Race

Kyle Amerson in victory lane. (USCS photo)

WOODSTOCK, Ga. — Kyle Amerson raced to his first USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters main event victory during the 12th annual Randy Helton Memorial Race at historic Dixie Speedway on Saturday night.

Amerson swept the evening’s USCS sprint car action by first winning the USC Hoosier Speed Dash. Amerson then won the second heat before parking his own No. 29 in victory lane for his final photo op of the evening to pose with the winner’s $2,700 paycheck.

Amerson was not only fast all evening but also had good fortune on his side. Amerson inherited the lead in the main event at mid race after early race-leader Johnny Bridges and Danny Oliver both drove below and struck the restart marker (cone). Both drivers were called for cone violation and moved back two positions.

Amerson then assumed the point on the restart and never looked back while surviving two more cautions and restarts himself.

Conner Leoffler, who started 10th, charged to a second-place finish. Morgan Turpen rounded out the podium with Bridges and Terry Gray completing the top five.

The finish:

Feature (27 Laps): 1. 29A-Kyle Amerson[4]; 2. 22-Connor Leoffler[10]; 3. 10M-Morgan Turpen[3]; 4. 10-Terry Gray[19]; 5. 07-Johnny Bridges[1]; 6. 29O-Jeff Oliver[11]; 7. 1ST-Steve Surniak[5]; 8. 67M-Hayden Martin[14]; 9. 21B-Brandon McLain[7]; 10. 49-Mallie Shuster[9]; 11. 43-Terry Witherspoon[16]; 12. 28-Jeff Willingham[18]; 13. 20-Jim Shuster[17]; 14. 9-Danny Oliver[2]; 15. 33-Joe Larkin[20]; 16. (DNF) 7E-Eric Gunderson[15]; 17. (DNF) 92-AJ Maddox[8]; 18. (DNF) 1A-Lee Moore[13]; 19. (DNF) 67T-Brian Thomas[6]; 20. (DNF) 15-Danny Burke[12]; 21. (DNF) 43JR-Tanner Witherspoon[21]; 22. (DNS) 17B-Shelby Brown



Advertisement - Article Bottom