Hull Captures Devils Bowl SCONE Victory

Hull Captures Devils
Will Hull in victory lane at Devils Bowl Speedway. (Alan Ward photo)

WEST HAVEN, Vt. – Will Hull took down the victory with the Green Mountain Gear-Heads Sprint Cars of New England on Wednesday night at the half-mile Devils Bowl Speedway.

The feature time saw Hull and Peter Dance bring the field to the green, with Dance getting the jump and leading the first lap. Before another lap could be completed, Adam Pierson suffered a mechanical failure and rolled to a stop under the flagstand.

Pierson’s incident caused the only caution of the event. When racing resumed, Floyd Billington got the jump, took the lead and immediately started to distance himself from the rest of the field.

Meanwhile polesitter Hull was mired towards the back of the pack after an unplanned excursion off the top of the backstretch. As the race wore on, Billington at times possessed almost a half-lap lead over second, while Hull was on the charge using the high groove.

Shortly after the halfway point of the feature, Hull had moved to second, with Dan Douville following him in third as the duo looked to reel in the high-flying Billington.

As the laps rapidly clicked off, Hull pulled away from Douville and was taking big chunks out of Billington’s lead in traffic. With five laps to go, it was apparent that Hull would reach Billington before the race concluded.

Once Hull caught the No. 69K of Billington, he tried high and low and finally made a high side move on the backstretch that propelled him to the lead coming to the white flag.

Billington didn’t go down without a fight, however, as he made a counter move on the backstretch as well but couldn’t make it stick.

At the checkered flag, it was Hull picking up the win, Billington crossing second and Douville finishing in third.

Clay Dow was fourth and Peter Dance completed the top five.

“This was a very satisfying win,” noted a very animated Hull in victory lane. “Going off on the backstretch like I did made it harder on us, but we somehow got it done for the win.”

The finish:

Will Hull, Floyd Billington, Dan Douville, Clay Dow, Peter Dance, Jacob Williams, Lacey Hanson, Mike Bosco, Rick Stone, Mike Kondrat, Kurt Conklin, Adam Pierson.


Advertisement - Article Bottom