Hafertepe Wins, Westbrook Wears Ohsweken Crown

Hafertepe Wins
Sam Hafertepe Jr. in victory lane at Ohsweken Speedway. (Dale Calnan photo)

OHSWEKEN, Ontario – Sam Hafertepe took the checkered flag and Dylan Westbrook won the 360 sprint car track championship Friday night during Ohsweken Speedway’s regular-season finale.

Cory Turner and Hafertepe brought the 24-car field of Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 sprint cars to the green flag for the championship-deciding feature.

Entering the night, Westbrook was two points ahead of Mack DeMan and the two drivers started the A-Feature third and eighth, respectively. Hafertepe jumped to the early lead, while Westbrook raced past Turner for second in the opening laps.

However, a caution slowed the race on lap five when Jake Brown got into the turn two wall.

On the ensuing restart, Hafertepe maintained the lead, but Turner got by Westbrook for second. By the halfway point, Turner, Westbrook and DeMan ran nose to tail tank for second, third and fourth while Hafertepe had checked out.

With five laps to go, DeMan drove the outside lane to try and track down Westbrook.

Over the final five laps, Hafertepe continued to cruise and claimed his sixth-career Ohsweken win, while Cory Turner was the runner-up on the night after outdueling Westbrook and DeMan in the second half of the race.

“You never know how good you are against these guys who race here every week,” said Hafertepe. “We still have lots to work on. Hats off to Bobby. I only have one crew guy with me and he’s been having a lot of weight on his shoulders. It’s good that we got out of here with a win. I’m really just getting pumped up for next week. It’s been since 2011 since I won and I feel like I should have won twice since then and messed up on my end.

“This year I feel like we really have a good car, and if we make some minor changes after tonight, we’ll be right where we need to be come Canadian Nationals time.”

Dylan Westbrook and his crew celebrate their Ohsweken Speedway championship. (Dale Calnan photo)

With two laps to go, DeMan did everything he could to catch Westbrook, but ran out of time and laps as Westbrook held off the No. 17x to earn a third-place finish to claim his third-straight Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 sprint car championship.

“All season we’ve been really good. We had a couple of little problems, but made our way through that. We were doing really well in that race and had a good setup,” said Westbrook. “There were a lot of little moves I would have normally made in a regular race, but I knew I had to make sure I didn’t do anything dumb. I saw Mack get pretty close to me, so I had to get back on it.”

Hannah Ferrell claimed victory with the Strickland’s Brantford Chevrolet Crate Sprint Cars, while 14-year-old Nick Sheridan’s top-five run earned him the championship in that class.

The finish:

1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr, [1]; 2. 13-Cory Turner, [2]; 3. 47X-Dylan Westbrook, [3]; 4. 17X-Mack DeMan, [8]; 5. 0-Jim Huppunen, [5]; 6. 10-Mitch Brown, [9]; 7. 91-Ryan Turner, [24]; 8. 49-Scott Kreutter, [7]; 9. 87X-Shone Evans, [16]; 10. 88H-Josh Hansen, [11]; 11. 1-Holly Porter, [4]; 12. 5D-Shane Ross, [14]; 13. 27H-Tom Huppunen, [12]; 14. 68-Aaron Turkey, [15]; 15. 11-Jamie Turner, [17]; 16. 77X-Alex Hill, [18]; 17. 15-Dan Nanticoke, [13]; 18. 45-Curtis Gartly, [23]; 19. 21-John Burbridge Jr, [20]; 20. 7-Caleb Wood, [21]; 21. 9B-Scott Burk, [19]; 22. 46-Kevin Pauls, [22]; 23. 1-10-Jake Brown, [6]; 24. 9-Steve Lyons, [10]

Lap Leaders: Sam Hafertepe Jr., 1-20.

Hard Charger: Ryan Turner (+17)


Advertisement - Article Bottom