Grosz Sits On Jackson Motorplex Throne

Lee Grosz in victory lane Sunday at the Jackson Motorplex.
Lee Grosz in victory lane Sunday at the Jackson Motorplex.

JACKSON, Minn. – Victory lane was jubilant on Sunday evening at Jackson Motorplex, where Lee Grosz wrapped up a track championship in style.

Grosz and Mike Mueller were the feature winners during Sea Foam Products Night, which concluded the DeKalb/Asgrow 360 Nationals presented by Kuhlman Lake Service & Welding, Inc. and Tweeter Contracting.

Grosz won the dash and led all 30 laps of the DeKalb/Asgrow presents the Midwest Power Series and Midwest Sprint Touring Series 360 sprint cars main event to garner his third win of the season at the track.

“You lead these things from the green (and) you don’t know where to go,” he said during an emotional interview in the Winner’s Circle. “That red came out and I didn’t really know where to go. I went to the top and felt pretty good. (On the last lap) I seen him show his nose. I drove into turn three and didn’t lift and let her eat.”

After two stoppages before the first lap was completed the only other caution came on lap 20 when there was a red flag. Grosz maintained the top spot after the restart, but Justin Henderson stayed within striking distance before diving to the bottom in turns one and two on the final lap. The duo raced side by side through turn two, but Grosz had momentum on the top groove and held on for the victory by .429 of a second.

Josh Baughman rounded out the podium with Jack Dover finishing fourth and Trey Starks ending fifth.

Mueller took the lead at the midpoint of the 25-lap National Sprint League Mastell Brothers Touring Series non-wing sprint cars presented by HitchDoc main event en route to his second straight triumph at Jackson Motorplex, winning the feature by 1.996 seconds.

“I had way too many frosty beverages last night,” he quipped in a victory lane interview. “I just had to get this over so I could have some more.”

Cam Schafer recorded a runner-up result with Eric Schulz placing third and Brandon Halverson fourth, earning him the track championship. Alex Schriever, who led the first 12 laps of the race, was fifth.


Advertisement - Article Bottom