Four Sprint Car Races At Anderson Next Year

Four Sprint Car Races
Sprint car racing will return to Anderson Speedway next season. (Dallas Breeze photo)

ANDERSON, Ind. – Anderson Speedway officials announced the quarter-mile oval’s sprint car schedule on Tuesday, reaffirming a commitment to pavement sprint car racing.

The track will host four sprint car races during the upcoming year. The first sprint car race of the new season will be the 73rd annual Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW.

“Sprint Car Racing at Anderson Speedway has become a staple,” said Jared Owen, the Vice President of Operations at Anderson Speedway. “We are enthused by the support from the drivers, fans and our partners. We are looking to continue to build these great races into events for all to come and witness.”

The 73rd annual Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW will return to its traditional date, the Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend, after being displaced this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The legendary race will once again boast a starting field of 33 drivers starting in 11 rows of three.

The Little 500 schedule remains the same for 2021 as in past years. Practice for all competitors will be on Wednesday, May 26, while CB Fabricating Pole Day follows on Thursday, May 27, and Bump Day rolls off on Friday, May 28.

More than 40 cars are expected to compete for the coveted 33 starting positions.

Bobby Santos III, from Franklin, Mass., is expected to be looking for his second consecutive Little 500 win driving for DJ Racing.

In addition to the Little 500, three other sprint car races will be run at Anderson.

Back in 2018, Anderson Speedway added more sprint car races to the calendar outside of the traditional two races a year – the Little 500 and the Glen Niebel Classic. That expansion in the schedule has provided growth to pavement sprint car racing in the region.

Sprint cars will kick off the Redbud 400 super late model weekend on Saturday, July 10.

The 20th Glen Niebel Classic presented by CB Fabricating will be joined by pavement midgets and the Day Transportation Mel Kenyon Midget Series. Tyler Roahrig took home his second consecutive Glen Niebel Classic trophy this past season.

“Anderson Speedway has played a vital role in the new enthusiasm that surrounds pavement sprint car racing,” said Roahrig, a two-time Glen Niebel Classic winner. “They have given teams multiple chances to race each year. This has certainly made the division much more competitive and fun. I always look forward to competing at Anderson Speedway against top notch competition.”

The other two sprint car races will be contested on July 31 and Oct. 2.

The Oct. 2 race will once again bear the name of Tony Elliott. Elliott was one of the toughest competitors in Anderson history. The Warsaw, Ind., driver was known for his compassion and infectious smile.

Sprint cars will compete in the Tony Elliott Classic for the sixth consecutive year. Santos continued his winning success and won the race this year.

In addition to the sprint cars, full-size pavement midgets will return to the speedway and compete on the same night.

Pavement midgets will race twice at Anderson in 2021 on July 10 and Oct. 2.

Since the expanded sprint car schedule in 2018, 14 races have been contested.

Four different winners have won during that time – Kody Swanson five times, Tyler Roahrig five times, Aaron Pierce two times, and Bobby Santos III two times.

Seventy-three different drivers have competed during that 14-race period.


Advertisement - Article Bottom