Faccinto Rides Off Into The Sunset

Mitchell Faccinto in victory lane at Sunset Speedway. (Devin Mayo photo)
Mitchell Faccinto in victory lane at Sunset Speedway. (Devin Mayo photo)

BANKS, Ore. — Mitchell Faccinto became the first driver to repeat during the Western Sprint Tour’s Northwest Speedweek when he won the 30-lap feature at Sunset Speedway Park on Thursday night.

Faccinto was aboard Stan Greenberg’s blue No. 37 sponsored by the Western Metal Co. He picked up $2,000 after starting from second position.

Steven Tiner finished in the second position after starting on the pole. Justin Sanders, the victor from the night before, wagged a race-long battle with Jake Wheeler and came home in the third spot.

Tiner and Faccinto brought the 20-car starting field down for the green, but Colby Copeland spun in the third turn and brought out a complete restart. On the restart, Faccinto used a pass in the first turn to overtake Tiner.

Faccinto then sent sail around the red clay quarter-mile oval. The race slowed again on lap three with a single-car spin in the fourth turn. Once again, Faccinto had a clear track, but that quickly went away as he came up on slower cars.

Faccinto used caution working lapped traffic, allowing Tiner to catch up and at one point get along side of him as both cars exited the fourth turn. Tiner, however, had the same slower cars to deal with and never had another shot at the leader.

The race slowed again when a car tagged the fourth turn wall on lap 16. The caution left Faccinto a clear track on the restart, and he clicked off the remaining laps without a challenge.

Sanders got around Wheeler on lap 26 with a turn-one pass. The leaders chose the high groove around the tiny bullring and there were no position changes after that.

The finish:

1. Mitchell Faccinto; 2. Steven Tiner; 3. Justin Sanders; 4. Devon Borden; 5. Tyler Thompson; 6. Tony Gualda; 7. Ryan Robinson; 8. Justyn Cox; 9. Seth Bergman; 10. Jake Wheeler; 11. Colby Copeland; 12. Tanner Holmes; 13. Jesse Love; 14. Kyle Miller; 15. Jake Haulot; 16. Nate Schank; 17. John Clark; 18. Jake Gilman; 19. Corbyn Fauver; 20. Emily Williams.


Advertisement - Article Bottom