Timms Takes Two With NOW600 In Oklahoma

Ryan Timms in victory lane Friday night at Creek County Speedway. (Richard Bales Photo)
Ryan Timms in victory lane Friday night at Creek County Speedway. (Richard Bales Photo)

SAPULPA, Okla. – Ryan Timms posted a pair of triumphs and Ryder Laplante scored his second victory of the season during Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division competition on Friday evening at Creek County Speedway.

The three premier NOW600 Series divisions featured its highest car count of the season during the opening night of the two-day Terry Mattox Promotions’ TUHB, Quality Threads Small-Town Showdown.

Timms bested the competition by scoring his first series win of the year in both the Stock Non-Wing and Winged A Class main events while Laplante produced his 20th career Restricted A Class victory with the series.

Timms topped a group of 47 drivers to stand atop the podium in the Stock Non-Wing division. It marked his second career triumph in the class. Johnny Boland finished second with Mason Daugherty third, 18th-starting Dean Drake Jr. fourth and Kelbie Volkman fifth.

Daugherty, series points leader Frank Flud, Daniel Shaffer, Kyle Thompson, Timms and Grady Mercer were victorious during the heat races. Kaden Smith and Logan Berthelson won the B Mains.

Timms outlasted 46 other drivers in the Winged A Class division as well to pocket his third career series win, which is tied for the second most. Rees Moran, Riley Goodno, Bradley Fezard and Laplante rounded out the top five, respectively.

Goodno, Brenham Crouch, Timms, Harley Hollan, Gage Laney and Moran were the heat race winners. Noah Key and Jordan Kluver each won a B Main.

Laplante closed to within 10 points of the lead in the Restricted ‘A’ Class championship standings thanks to his trip to victory lane. Ethan Ayars placed second with Jade Avedisian edging Garrett Benson for the final spot on the podium. Avedisian and Benson are tied for the series points lead. Kayden Cole ended the race fifth.

Joshua Gentry, Avedisian, Ayers and Conner Thomas split the heat race triumphs. Brody Mclaughlin was the B Main winner.


Advertisement - Article Bottom