Three Races In Eight Days For Western Midget Racing

Three Races In Eight
Western Midget Racing will launch its season on Friday night.

SANTA CRUZ, Calif. – Western Midget Racing makes its long-awaited return to the dirt bullrings of California with three races over eight days for the Ecotec-powered midget cars.

The WMR will invade one of its home race tracks, with events at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville, Calif., on July 10 and July 17, followed by the series’ inaugural jaunt at Petaluma Speedway on July 18.

All three events will be open to WMR-legal competitors only and have attracted a strong roster of drivers ready to battle for victory. WMR utilizes affordable General Motors-powered Midgets, using production engines from 2006-2012.

The events will be live-streamed, as all three are closed to spectators due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Fresno’s David Prickett led the WMR contingent with five victories in 2019, split across three wins at Ocean Speedway and two wins at Ventura Raceway.

His chief competition came from Randi Pankratz, who was denied a victory throughout the season but won the Ventura points and finished second to Prickett in the Ocean points.

She podiumed on nearly 10 occasions during the season.

The remaining dates for the 2020 Western Midget Racing season are still unconfirmed, as most tracks in California are taking their programs on a week-to-week basis.

WMR will make all attempts to complete a full 2020 season and has made contacts with new venues to aid in that effort.

Part of the motivating factor for series officials to get 2020 underway is the series’ tremendous growth. Friday’s event is expected to attract a strong contingent of drivers.

The Neverlift Motorsports/Prickett outfit will field entries for Prickett, Clovis’ Jackson Dukes, and Jon Santibanes. Chris Slay will field at least two cars, with Ventura Raceway regular Tyler Slay and reigning Dixon Speedway champion Norman Harley Rose at the controls.

Brentwood’s Blake Bower is another micro sprint graduate aiming at the WMR ranks. Tyler Dolacki, Pacific Grove’s Greg Edenholm, and BCRA Hall of Famer Cameron Beard are expected to compete. Newcomers to the series include Joey Bishop and Paul Sanders.

Pit gates open at 1 p.m. on Friday night at Ocean Speedway, located at the Santa Cruz Fairgrounds. The drivers meeting will be at 4:45 p.m., with hot laps to follow.

WMR will join the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Four Bangers, Police-N-Pursuit, and South Bay Dwarf Cars on a packed card.


Advertisement - Article Bottom