Sweet Headlines First Wave Of Chili Bowl Entries

Sweet Headlines First Wave
Brad Sweet is among the first 101 entries for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. (Scott Swenson photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Reigning World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion Brad Sweet headlines the first wave of Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals entries, which were released to the public on Monday evening.

Taking place Jan. 13-18 atop the clay of the Tulsa Expo Raceway in Tulsa, Okla., eight of the 101 entries received thus far are in search of a driver, while 24 are among those who have made the cut into Saturday night’s championship A-main.

Among the entered is Sweet, who will wheel a Rusty Kunz-wrenched, RMS-prepared mount. The Grass Valley, Calif., native has an average finish of seventh among his five A-main starts, with a best finish of third in 2013.

Keeping in theme with the World of Outlaws, the first entries received for the 2020 event came from World Racing Group Director of Broadcasting Brian Dunlap, who will field a pair of cars.

One of the Dunlap entries will be driven by World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series director Casey Shuman, who has five Saturday A-main starts, while the second finds Washington’s Gary Taylor, who has made the show on three occasions.

In terms of the most impressive Chili Bowl resume of those entered so far, that honor goes to Dave Darland, who has 15 A-main starts, two podiums, five top-five and eight top-10 finishes since 1998.

While the list of drivers who have made the cut always reads like a list of current and future Hall of Fame drivers, there are currently 15 on the list taking their first crack at the Chili Bowl.

Continuing the trend of attracting talent from nearly every discipline, Australia’s James Davison is among the list of Chili Bowl rookies.

From Formula Ford, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Indy car racing, and select starts in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, the 33-year old racing veteran will be aboard a Hayward Motorsports mount for his first shot at the Golden Driller.

With the number of drivers entered expected to swell rapidly as teams wrap up this week’s 79th annual Turkey Night Grand Prix at California’s Ventura Raceway, the deadline for the discounted early entry fee of $150 is Friday, Dec. 13.

After that, the prices per entry goes to $200.

2020 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Entry List (as of Nov. 25)

Car # – Driver (Hometown, State)

0K-Don O’Keefe, Jr. (Pittsboro, IN)
00S-Randy Sterling (Morrisdale, PA)
1G-Kyle Cummins (Princeton, IN)
1K-Brayton Lynch (Springfield, IL)
1R-Brad Sweet (Grass Valley, CA)
2B-Tyler Hewitt (Noblesville, IN)
2BX-Brett Becker (Odessa, TX)
2C-Seth Carlson (Stafford, CT)
2D-Matt Sherrell (Owasso, OK)
2L-Landon Simon (Avon, IN)
2N-Weston Gorham (Colleyville, TX)
2ND-Dave Darland (Lincoln, IN)
2W-Wyatt Burks (Topeka, KS)
4M-Michelle Decker (Guthrie, OK)
5D-Zach Daum (Pocahontas, IL)
5H-Jack Hawley (Menifee, CA)
5K-Justin Peck (Monrovia, IN)
07W-Mitchel Moles (Fresno, CA)
7-Shannon McQueen (Tehachapi, CA)
7J-Shawn Jackson (Bear, DE)
7M-Brody Roa (Bueno Park, CA)
7MF-Chance Morton (Coweta, OK)
7X-Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, CA)
8-Alex Sewell (Broken Arrow, OK)
8B-Colin Deming (Hobbs, NM)
8J-Jonathan Beason (Broken Arrow, OK)
8K-Josh Hawkins (Whitehouse, TX)
8M-Kade Morton (Coweta, OK)
9H-Emilio Hoover (Broken Arrow, OK)
9JR-Derek Hagar (Marion, AR)
11-Cale Conley (Vienna, WV)
11A-Andrew Felker (Carl Junction, MO)
11E-Cory Elliott (Bakersfield, CA)
11F-Michael Faccinto (Hanford, CA)
11P-Laydon Pearson (New Castle, OK)
11T-Larry Petersen (Wahiawa, HI)
13G-James Davison (Melbourne, VIC)
14E-Jake Neal (Omaha, NE)
14F-Cameron Hagin (Broken Arrow, OK)
14X-Jody Rosenboom (Rock Rapids, IA)
15D-Andrew Deal (Caney, KS)
17B-Ryan Bickett (Romona, SD)
17W-Shane Golobic (Elk Grove, CA)
19-Tanner Thorson (Minden, NV)
19B-Spencer Bayston (Lebanon, IN)
20-Tadd Holliman (Murray, NE)
21-Daryn Pittman (Owasso, OK)
21D-Justin Dickerson (Pittsboro, IN)
22C-Charlie Crumpton (Bixby, OK)
22S-Sean McClelland (Owasso, OK)
22X-Steven Shebester (Mustang, OK)
28-Ace McCarthy (Tahlequah, OK)
28Q-Sean Quinn (Clovis, CA)
32-Gary Taylor (Snohomish, WA)
32D-Casey Shuman (Rattlesnake Bend, AZ)
32T-Trey Marcham (New Castle, OK)
35X-Tyler Robbins (Collinsville, IL)
41-Oliver Akard (Ft. Myers, FL)
46-Kenney Johnson (Bethany, CT)
46X-Jeffrey Champagne (Westfield, MA)
47-Alex Bright (Collegeville, PA)
47X-Danny Stratton (Reading, PA)
49-Scott Kreutter (Alden, NY)
50-Daniel Adler (St. Louis, MO)
51-Curtis Jones (Sand Springs, OK)
51X-Joe Walker (Grandview, MO)
52-Blake Hahn (Sapulpa, OK)
56D-Mitchell Davis (Auburn, IL)
57W-Dustin Golobic (Elk Grove, CA)
63-Michael Pickens (Auckland, )
68B-Blain Peterson (Essex, IA)
72-Eric Fenton (Jenks, OK)
72C-Chris Tarrant (Rockwall, TX)
72X-Jeff Wheeler (Rockwall, TX)
75-Bryan Stanfill (Bakersfield, CA)
75X-Mike Griffiths (Melbourne, VIC)
77-Colby Copeland (Roseville, CA)
77W-Ryan Bernal (Hollister, CA)
80-Joe Spillman (Austin, TX)
81-Colten Cottle (Kansas, IL)
83-Austin Liggett (Tracy, CA)
84M-Alex DeCamp (Locust Grove, OK)
85-Matt Moore (Edmond, OK)
91-Jeff Stasa (Kingman, KS)
92-Josh Most (Red Oak, IA)
95-Chris Andrews (Tulsa, OK)
97W-Kaidon Brown (Sydney, NSW)
97X-Austin O’Dell (Rochester, IN)
98-Ryan Padgett (Anadarko, OK)
99K-Robert Carson (Concord, CA)
117-Jack Dover (Springfield, NE)
155-Ryan Truitt (Dewey, OK)
321-Chad Winfrey (Gladstone, MO)

Sprint Car & Midget’s Chili Bowl coverage is presented by MyRacePass, the official timing and scoring app of the 2020 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. Fans can download the MyRacePass app on their phones to follow all the action during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. For more information on MyRacePass, visit www.myracepass.com and use the hashtag #GetTheApp on Twitter!


Advertisement - Article Bottom