Murphy Takes Surprise Badger Midget Win

Sean Murphy (left) and car owner Craig Dori in victory lane at Sycamore Speedway.

SYCAMORE, Ill. – Sean Murphy scored a surprise victory in the 25-lap Badger Midget Series feature Saturday night at Sycamore Speedway.

On the opening lap, series points leader Chad McDermand tangled with two cars running mid-pack and spun, restarting at the tail of the field. Polesitter Kyle Koch paced the initial lap, before Kurt Mayhew took the lead.

On the fourth lap, Murphy moved into second place behind Mayhew. Murphy took over the top position from Mayhew on lap six, and one lap later Mayhew retired from the event.

Murphy held a 1.4-second lead at the midway point, while McDermand was fourth. Murphy entered heavy lap traffic with seven laps remaining. The field was bunched up with two laps remaining for two spun cars, but on the restart Murphy went unchallenged for the victory.

Murphy, driving the Craig Dori-owned Gamester/Chevy No. 38, finished 1.92 seconds of Nick Baran.

Mike Stroik, rookie Derek Doerr and McDermand filled out the top five.

“My car owner Craig Dori had the car set up perfectly. I had to keep in the lower groove.  Lapped traffic was intense the last eight laps, but it fell my way,” said Murphy. “Its great to get a Badger Midget win.”

McDermand holds a one-point lead over Nick Baran heading to the Franklin B. Alexander Memorial on Sept. 5 at the track.

The finish:

1. Sean Murphy; 2. Nick Baran; 3. Mike Stroik; 4. Derek Doerr; 5. Chase McDermand; 6. Jim Fuerst; 7. LaMonte Critcheett; 8. Kevin Douglas; 9. Kyle Koch; 10. Ryan Zielski;  11. Tristan Koenigs 16. Dan Kleven; 17. Aaron Schuck; 18. Dave Collins Jr.;  19. Tyler Baran; 20. Kurt Mayhew; 21. Jeff Zelinski; 22. R.J Corson.


Advertisement - Article Bottom