Meseraull Chops Down Sycamore Field

Thomas Meseraull
Thomas Meseraull

SYCAMORE, Ill. — Thomas Meseraull won Saturday night’s 25-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature at Sycamore Speedway.

Ryan Probst took the lead at the start, while Meseruall began improving positions from his 16th place starting position. Probst executed a “half-spin” while leading on lap two, bringing out the caution flag. Kevin Olson assumed the lead on the start, with Meseraull running in 12th.

Meseraull improved to sixth place, on lap six, when Scott Hatton took the lead from Olson. Meseruall was third on lap 10, and one lap later took over the second position, as Hatton began lapping the tail of the field. Meseraull challenged Hatton several times for the lead, before taking over the top position on lap 14, entering turn three.

Meseraull continued lapping cars, while increasing his lead over Hatton, as the pair separated themselves from the remainder of the field. Two cautions appeared between Laps 20-23 for stalled cars. Meseruall held off the challenges of Hatton on both restarts.
Meseruall driving the RMS Racing owned Spike/Honda No. 7 finished 1.25 seconds ahead of Hatton. Series points leader Jack Routson, trying for his third straight feature victory at the track finished third, with Zach Boden and Olson completing the top five.

“This place is awesome to drive, loved the cushion and ledge tonight, we were perfect for the feature, the lapped traffic was intense I knew I had to be aggressive in traffic, with Hatton right behind me,” said Meseruall, who was competing at the track for the first time.

The finish:

Feature: 1. Thomas Meseraull; 2. Scott Hatton; 3. Jack Routson; 4. Zach Boden; 5. Kevin Olson; 6. Chase McDermand; 7.Ryan Probst; 8. Kurt Mayhew; 9. Matt Recheck; 10. Tristan Koenings; 11. Denny Smith; 12. Ryan Shilkuski; 13. R.J. Corson; 14. Jeff Zelinski; 15. Shay Sassano; 16. Harrison Kleven; 17. Mike Stroik.



Advertisement - Article Bottom