Flud & Benson Collect Oil Capital Clash Honors

Garrett Benson in victory lane Saturday at Port City Raceway. (Richard Bales Photo)
Garrett Benson in victory lane Saturday at Port City Raceway. (Richard Bales Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Frank Flud and Garrett Benson became Oil Capital Clash champions by winning Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division features Saturday night during the fourth edition of the event held at Port City Raceway.

Flud captured both the Stock Non-Wing and Winged ‘A’ Class main events and Benson garnered the Restricted A Class feature victory to cap a three-day event that featured 90-plus entries in the three premier NOW600 Series divisions each night.

Flud made the most of the pole position to win the 27-lap Stock Non-Wing feature. It marked his division-leading third triumph of the season and his 39th career with the series. Daison Pursley maneuvered from eighth to second place with Ryan Timms, Trey Robb and Shawn Mahaffey rounding out the top five, respectively.

Dean Drake Jr., Kaylee Bryson, Johnny Boland and Timothy Watson III each won a heat race. Caleb Pence and Kris Carroll recorded B Main victories.

Flud also capitalized on a front row starting position during the 27-lap Winged A Class main event, scoring his sixth win of the season in seven series starts. It was also his 48th career trip to Victory Lane with the series. Timms posted a runner-up result with 15th-starting K.J. Snow ending third. Mahaffey finished fourth and Laydon Pearson placed fifth.

Pearson, Bryson, Rees Moran and Gage Robb were the heat race winners. Snow and Bradley Fezard were the B Main victors.

Benson regained the Restricted A Class points lead after powering to his division-best fourth triumph of the season. Ryder Laplante was second with Jade Avedisian third, Kayden Cole fourth and 14th-starting Brody Mclaughlin fifth.

Cale Coons and Trey Zorn each claimed a B Main win.


Advertisement - Article Bottom