Courtney Leads Roster For Chili Bowl Opener

Courtney Leads Roster
Tyler Courtney in action Monday at Tulsa Expo Raceway. (Brendon Bauman photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Reigning NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series champion Tyler Courtney headlines the list of drivers for Monday’s Cummins Qualifying Night, the opening act of the 34th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

The Indianapolis native is among the 65 entries attempting to secure one of two guaranteed spots in the 55-lap championship A-main at Tulsa Expo Raceway.

Monday’s 25-lap preliminary feature will send the top two finishers to Saturday’s main event, also locking them into the #BCForever Pole Dash that will determine the first five rows of the grid.

Courtney, whose best Saturday effort at the Chili Bowl is a pair of sixth-place finishes (2017, 2019), will pilot the No. 7bc NOS Energy Drink-sponsored, Stanton-SR11x/Spike for Clauson-Marshall Racing. It will be Courtney’s ninth Chili Bowl attempt overall.

Also notable in Monday’s lineup is Chili Bowl sophomore Cannon McIntosh, a product of Bixby, Okla., who nearly won top rookie honors in last year’s event and will drive the No. 71k Tulsa Sod & Mulch-backed Bullet/Toyota for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports.

Other notables in Monday’s field include NASCAR Xfinity Series star Chase Briscoe, eight-time New Zealand midget champion Michael Pickens and teenage sensation Gio Scelzi.

Briscoe will return to his own Chase Briscoe Racing No. 5 this year after attempting last year’s Chili Bowl with Boss Factory Racing, while Pickens is driving the No. 1nz King/Toyota for RMS Racing and Scelzi will wheel the familiar Tucker-Boat Motorsports No. 84.

Multi-time AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series champion Brady Bacon is also in the field, driving the No. 76e for Frank Manafort Racing.

One entry – the No. 4s from RAMS Racing – still stands with a to-be-announced driver.

Cummins Qualifying Night Entry List – Monday, Jan. 13, 2020

Car No. – Driver – Hometown

GO – Eddie Martin – Stilwell, Okla.
P1 – Paul White – Waco, Texas
1B – Anton Hernandez – Arlington, Texas
1NZ – Michael Pickens – Auckland, New Zealand
1Z – Chris Roseland – Carter Lake, Iowa
2 – Ryan Hall – Midlothian, Texas
2N – Weston Gorham – Colleyville, Texas
2S – John Kilmer – Goldsby, Okla.
3T – Taylor Peterson – Tulsa, Okla.
4S – TBA – TBA
5 – Chase Briscoe – Mitchell, Ind.
5D – Zach Daum – Pocahontas, Ill.
5F – Danny Frye III – St. Peters, Mo.
5HX – Casey Hicks- (Platte City, Mo.
5T – Kevin Thomas Jr. – Cullman, Ala.
5X – Tyson Hall – Diana, Texas
7C – Tyler Courtney – Indianapolis, Ind.
7F – Travis Ashwood – Sapulpa, Okla.
7RS – Christopher Larson – Leander, Texas
7S – Kory Schudy – Springfield, Mo.
8 – Alex Sewell – Broken Arrow, Okla.
8M – Kade Morton – Coweta, Okla.
9H – Emilio Hoover – Broken Arrow, Okla.
9X – Paul Nienhiser – Chapin, Ill.
11J – Justin Melton – Flower Mound, Texas
15K – Andrew Carlson – Elk River, Minn.
15X – Carson Garrett – Little River, Colo.
17D – Ryan Ellis – Ashburn, Va.
17E – Blake Edwards – Coweta, Okla.
17Z – Zac Moody – Broken Arrow, Okla.
18 – Tony Bruce Jr. – Liberal, Kan.
18L – Logan Scherb – Decatur, Texas
19N – Nick O’Neal – Wagoner, Okla.
20S – Shon Deskins – Waddell, Ariz.
22S – Sean McClelland – Owasso, Okla.
27A – AJ Burns – New Castle, Okla.
27F – Jesse Frazier – Tulsa, Okla.
27Z – Zane Hendricks – Stillwater, Okla.
32 – Gary Taylor – Snohomish, Wash.
32T – Trey Marcham – New Castle, Okla.
41 – Oliver Akard – Ft. Myers, Fla.
44 – Ryan Leavitt – Knoxville, Iowa
44C – Blake Carrier – Amite, La.
44D – Evan Turner – Jacksonville, Ill.
44X – Wesley Smith – Nixa, Mo.
47K – Kevin Brewer – Owasso, Okla.
51 – Curtis Jones – Sand Springs, Okla.
56A – Riley Kreisel – Warsaw, Mo.
57W – Dustin Golobic – Elk Grove, Calif.
67o – Kyle O’Gara – Indianapolis, Ind.
71K – Cannon McIntosh – Bixby, Okla.
74 – Drew Rader – Findlay, Ohio
74R – Slater Helt – Harrisonville, Mo.
75M – Corey Ballard – Orange, Calif.
76E – Brady Bacon – Broken Arrow, Okla.
77W – Joey Wirth – Fults, Ill.
84 – Gio Scelzi – Fresno, Calif.
86C – Dave Camfield Sr. – Decatur, Ill.
91K – Kevin Bayer – Bixby, Okla.
91W – Cody Hays – Wynne, Ark.
96 – Cody Brewer – Choctaw, Okla.
98B – Joe Boyles – Greenwood, Mo.
116 – Claud Estes III – Godley, Texas
130 – Larry Bratti – Springdale, Ark.
155 – Ryan Truitt – Dewey, Okla.

How to Watch the Chili Bowl:

LIVE From the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Presented by MyRacePass – Story Index Page
News, analysis, interviews, behind-the-scenes and more – updated throughout each day.

LIVE PPV Streaming Broadcast –
Monday – Saturday coverage

LIVE Television Broadcast –
Saturday, Jan. 18th at 8:30pm EST

LIVE Timing and Scoring – MyRacePass

Sprint Car & Midget’s Chili Bowl coverage is presented by MyRacePass, the official timing and scoring app of the 2020 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. Fans can download the MyRacePass app on their phones to follow all the action during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. For more information on MyRacePass, visit and use the hashtag #GetTheApp on Twitter!


Advertisement - Article Bottom