Smith & Scelzi Headline Early STN Entries

Smith & Scelzi Headline
Mark Smith (M1) is among the early entries for I-30 Speedway's Short Track Nationals. (Max Dolder photo)

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – With the pre-entry deadline approaching for the 33rd annual Comp Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires at I-30 Speedway, a number of top contenders are among the earliest batch of entries.

The crown jewel event of 360ci sprint car racing is set for Oct. 1-3 atop the high-banked, quarter-mile clay oval. This year, the Short Track Nationals will be co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour and the ASCS Mid-South Region.

Following a Thursday Test ‘N Tune session, a $2,500-to-win preliminary event takes place on Friday before the $10,041-to-win, 41-lap STN championship feature on Saturday night.

Early entries already encompass the nation from Pennsylvania to California, with Mark Smith representing the Keystone State and Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi throwing his hat into the STN waters for the first time.

Smith ranks as the winningest 360-ci sprint car driver in the nation with 17 triumphs this year, including a score in this past weekend’s Ralph Henson Memorial at I-30 Speedway.

Scelzi has run a true outlaw schedule in 2020, competing in a variety of events across the country, with an All Star Circuit of Champions triumph in June at Louisiana’s Chatham Speedway among a pair of wins.

Perennial STN contenders Derek Hagar and Dale Howard are also among the early entries as is Howard Moore, who will wheel the A.G. Rains No. 3 sprint car. Others among the early entries include Oregon native Roger Crockett and Memphis-area veteran Ernie Ainsworth.

Entries for the event are just $100 and include driver pit pass for Friday and Saturday if submitted by Sept. 27. Entry forms are available at the following link.

Last October, Sapulpa, Blake Hahn bested a field of 70 competitors to become just the fifth racer in event history to win in back-to-back years, joining the likes of Steve Kinser (1988-89), Gary Wright (2003-04), Tony Bruce, Jr. (2008-09) and Sammy Swindell (2016-17).

Hall of Famers Sammy Swindell and Gary Wright top the STN win charts with five and four triumphs, respectively.

Other past event winners include the likes of NASCAR Cup Series rookie Christopher Bell, Paul McMahan, World of Outlaws champions Brad Sweet and Jason Meyers, Tony Bruce Jr., the late Jason Johnson, Tim Montgomery, Jason Sides, Mike Ward, Tim Crawley, Wayne Johnson, Pete Butler, Terry Gray, John Gerloff and Steve Kinser, the King of the Outlaws.

Both nights will feature a full card of heat and qualifying races followed by feature events. The top 40 in passing points each night will advance to four qualifying races, with the balance to C-mains.

Combined points from heats and qualifiers will set lineups for twin B-mains and the A-main.

While there will be no lock-ins from Friday’s $2,500-to-win preliminary, the top two drivers in combined passing and finishing points from Friday and Saturday heats and qualifiers who don’t race into the Saturday feature will be awarded the 19th and 20th starting positions in the Saturday night STN championship finale.

The 21st starting spot is reserved for the 2020 I-30 Speedway track champion, if needed.

Saturday night heat races will each offer up $100 to win courtesy of Jenkins Fleet Services.

The top four in Saturday night heat and qualifying race passing/finishing points will compete in the Mike Pack Building Materials Dash for Cash that will set the lineup for the first two rows of the 41-lap STN championship finale.

The Dash will pay $500 for first, $250 for second, $150 for third and $100 for fourth.

The Red Shirt Dash for non-transfers, in honor of Lanny Edwards, will pay $400 to win.


Advertisement - Article Bottom