Pelkey Inherits Desert Triumph

Josh Pelkey (Ben Thrasher photo)

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — Finally getting a chance to hit the track again in 2020, the San Tan Ford ASCS Desert Non-Wing Series rolled into Arizona Speedway on Saturday night with Josh Pelkey ending up with the win.

Originally rolling to the line second to Bruce St. James, post-race tech revealed the car was equipped with hollow bolts. Illegal in the ASCS Desert Non-Wing rules, St. James was ultimately disqualified, advancing Pelkey to the top step of the night’s podium.

Randy Nelson was second with Tyler Most third. Aaron Jones and Ronald Webster completed the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 12-Josh Pelkey[1]; 2. 9X-Randy Nelson[2]; 3. 3M-Tyler Most[9]; 4. 22G-Aaron Jones[5]; 5. 51-Ronald Webster[11]; 6. 17-Joe Scheopner[7]; 7. 3-Pete Yerkovich[10]; 8. 7X-Ryan Murphy[12]; 9. 7OH-Bryan Ledbetter Jr[8]; 10. 88-Philip Deeney[14]; 11. (DNF) 2-Joshua Shipley[4]; 12. (DNF) 9-John Shelton[6]; 13. (DNF) 76-Jesse Stonecipher[16]; 14. (DNF) 25-Mike Waddle[13]; 15. (DNF) 10-Eugene Thomas[15]; 16. (DQ) 7K-Bruce St James[3]



Advertisement - Article Bottom