Hahn Tops Bergman In ASCS Sprint

Blake Hahn and crew in victory lane. (Richard Bales photo)
Blake Hahn and crew in victory lane. (Richard Bales photo)

SAPULPA, Okla. — Surviving late-race contact with a lapped car, Blake Hahn held off Seth Bergman to win the Don Swope Classic at Creek County Speedway for his first Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Week powered by Smiley’s Racing Products victory.

“First, I have to say I’m sorry I got into Zach [Chappell]. Lapped traffic was getting hairy and I knew we had Seth breathing down our neck there,” Hahn said. “We needed to run the top, so I was going to slide the No. 9 [Randall], and so did Zach. I got the brakes trying to stay off him and just had too much momentum. We are lucking we did keep going. I thought we were going to be in serious trouble.”

Chasing the Evergreen Coffee Co. No. 23 the opening 16 laps, traffic played to Hahn’s advantage as the leaders worked lap 17. Getting the run off the fourth turn, Hahn slid ahead of Bergman off the second turn.

Stalked by Bergman as the pair shot through the field, Hahn tried to peel to the bottom on the No. 9 of Chase Randall working lap 22. Finding Zach Chappell also diving low as he battled Randall for 11th, Hahn got over the left side tires of the No. 50z. Spinning around, Hahn was able to continue, but the caution would come out as Chappell came to a stop in the fourth turn.

Able to keep rolling and not needing a second push, Hahn was able to retain the lead on the restart and kept Bergman at bay.

Shane Hopkins posted his first Sprint Week podium finish with Channin Tankersley moving from 10th to fourth. J.J. Hickle advanced eighth spots to finish fifth.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn[2]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 3. 21S-Shane Hopkins[3]; 4. 17G-Channin Tankersley[10]; 5. 63-JJ Hickle[13]; 6. G6-Cody Gardner[8]; 7. 5H-Michael Faccinto[9]; 8. 55B-Brandon Anderson[17]; 9. 5$-Danny Smith[6]; 10. 8-Alex Sewell[7]; 11. 9-Chase Randall[16]; 12. 5T-Ryan Timms[20]; 13. 21P-Robbie Price[18]; 14. J2-John Carney II[5]; 15. 33-Colton Heath[11]; 16. 50Z-Zach Chappell[14]; 17. 41-Colton Hardy[15]; 18. 1X-Jake Bubak[4]; 19. 31-Casey Wills[12]; 20. 1XX-Tim Crawley[19]




Advertisement - Article Bottom