Fanelli Becomes Eighth ASCS Elite North Winner

Fanelli Becomes Eighth
Michael Fanelli. (Don Holbrook photo)

FORT MORGAN, Colo. – Capturing his first career victory with the ASCS Elite North Non-Wing Series at I-76 Speedway, New Mexico’s Michael Fanelli became the series’ eighth different winner.

Dominating the ultra-slick oval on Saturday night, the Rio Rancho racer was chased to the finish by Friday night’s winner, Zack Merritt, who came up from sixth ahead of Todd Plemons on the podium. Brett Ream and Gary Land made up the balance of the top five.

Jeff Seesholtz went from ninth to sixth with Austyn Gossel making up half his starting deficit to seventh. California’s Ryan Devitt crossed eighth, followed by Brian Hardman and Coby Pearce among the top 10.

The ASCS Elite North Non-Wing Series will head south for its next outing, taking on the Texas-based ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating on Friday, July 24 at West Texas Raceway.

The finish:

1. 2-Michael Fanelli [2]; 2. 74-Zack Merritt [6]; 3. 17-Todd Plemons [4]; 4. 8-Brett Ream [1]; 5. 55-Gary Land [5]; 6. 9J-Jeff Seesholtz [9]; 7. 6G-Austyn Gossel [14]; 8. 35-Ryan Devitt [8]; 9. 16-Brian Hardman [12]; 10. 92-Coby Pearce [11]; 11. 61-Jesse Fernandez [3]; 12. 56X-Mark Chisholm [10]; 13. 20H-Logan Hershey [7]; 14. 59-Butch Hardman [13]; 15. 56-Bryan Gossel [15].


Advertisement - Article Bottom