Dennis Gile Conquers Desert Sprint

Dennis Gile (Ben Thrasher photo)
Dennis Gile (Ben Thrasher photo)

CASA GRANDE, Ariz. — Dennis Gile made it two ASCS Desert Non-Wing Sprint Car series wins in a row by wiring the field in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature atop the Central Arizona Speedway clay oval.

While Gile took sprint car honors, other Saturday night winners included Bo Partain in IMCA Sport Modified action, Nelson Morrow in Pure Stocks and Grant Schaadt and Cameron LaRose in winged and non-wing Power 600 Micro Sprint competition.

In the 25-lap ASCS Desert Non-Wing Sprint Car Series feature, Gile took command at the outset from the pole position and was in command all the way before ultimately posting his third series win of the year ahead of Joshua Shipley, Sterling Cling, 11th-starter Joe Scheopner and Rick Shuman.

Bo Partain rallied from the eighth starting position to take IMCA Sport Modified honors ahead of Cody Miller and J.J. McCarty, while Nelson Morrow raced from the fourth row outside to make it five Pure Stock triumphs in a row ahead of Virgil McArthur and Jack Lacy.

In the Power 600 Micro Sprint Car ranks, Grant Schaadt capitalized on the pole position to win the winged feature ahead of Logan Calderwood and Hayley Aragon while Cameron La Rose raced from the third row to top the wingless feature in front of Eric Kelley, Jr., and Kurt Johnson.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps):  1. 4T-Dennis Gile, 2. 2-Joshua Shipley, 3. 34-Sterling Cling, 4. 17-Joe Scheopner, 5. 25az-Rick Shuman, 6. 7-Wayne Siddle, 7. 3-Pete Yerkovich, 8. 25-Mike Waddle, 9. 7x-Ryan Murphy, 10. 3k-Patrick Krob, 11. 51-Ronald Webster, 12. 7k-Bruce St. James, 13. 56-George Zills.



Advertisement - Article Bottom