Stacked Field Takes Aim At Governor’s Reign

Aaron Reutzel (87) will look to defend his All Star Circuit of Champions victory at Eldora Speedway this week. (Brendon Bauman photo)

ROSSBURG, Ohio – Racing will return to Eldora Speedway for the third time this season as the half-mile clay oval hosts the Governor’s Reign sprint car event.

The Sept. 22-23 event, sanctioned by the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions, will pay out a whopping $52,000 to the Wednesday winner and will be the lone 410 sprint car event contested this year at the historic venue.

Tuesday’s preliminary night will award a $10,000 top prize.

Wednesday’s winner’s share was originally advertised at $50,000 before the ante was upped by longtime team owner Kevin Rudeen, who fields the No. 26 sprint car for California’s Cory Eliason.

While both nights of the Governor’s Reign are points-paying events for the All Stars, the list of combatants for the event looks more like a Hall of Fame showcase rather than a typical show.

In addition to All Star championship leader Aaron Reutzel and fellow full-timers Eliason, Zeb Wise, Paul McMahan, Skylar Gee and Greg Wilson, the majority of the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series field will also be in attendance at Eldora for the Governor’s Reign.

The top-three in the World of Outlaws standings – defending champion Brad Sweet, Logan Schuchart and Donny Schatz – are all entered.

World of Outlaws regulars Jacob Allen, Carson Macedo, Jason Sides, Kraig Kinser, Parker Price-Miller, Sheldon Haudenschild, David Gravel and Daryn Pittman are also scheduled to be in action.

Kyle Larson will be back in the Silva Motorsports No. 57 as he looks to reach the 40-win threshold during his Return to Dirt campaign, with fan favorite Rico Abreu and NASCAR Cup Series rookie Christopher Bell also joining the fun.

Pennsylvania Posse members making the trek to Eldora include Anthony Macri, Brock Zearfoss and Brent Marks. Three-time Outlaw champion Sammy Swindell will pilot son Kevin’s familiar No. 39.

Travis Philo, Tyler Courtney and Brady Bacon received spots in the field through fan voting.

The complete list of entries for the Governor’s Reign is below. A live video broadcast of the event will be available, and more streaming information can be found here.

Reutzel won the last 410 sprint car event held at Eldora Speedway during the 4-Crown Nationals in September of 2019.

The Governor’s Reign is a replacement for the winged sprint car portion of the 4-Crown Nationals, which were canceled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. That event usually features the All Star Circuits of Champions and all three USAC national divisions.

All Star Circuit of Champions Governor’s Reign Entry List

(48 cars, three spots awarded by fan vote)

Car No. – Driver – Hometown

1a – Jacob Allen – Hanover, Pa.
1s – Logan Schuchart – Hanover, Pa.
2 – Carson Macedo – Lemoore, Calif.
2m – Kerry Madsen – St. Marys, NSW, Australia
3 – Jac Haudenschild – Wooster, Ohio
3c – Cale Conley – Vienna, W.Va.
3z – Brock Zearfoss – Jonestown, Pa.
4 – Cap Henry – Bellevue, Ohio
5 – Brent Marks – Myerstown, Pa.
5t – Travis Philo – Waterville, Ohio
7BC – Tyler Courtney – Indianapolis, Ind.
9 – James McFadden – Warrnambool, VIC, Australia
10 – Dave Blaney – Hartford, Ohio
11 – Zeb Wise – Angola, Ind.
11k – Kraig Kinser – Bloomington, Ind.
12n – Joey Saldana – Brownsburg, Ind.
13 – Paul McMahan – Nashville, Tenn.
14 – Tim Kaeding – San Jose, Calif.
14 – Parker Price-Miller – Kokomo, Ind.
15 – Donny Schatz – Fargo, N.D.
15k – Chad Kemenah – Alvada, Ohio
17 – Ian Madsen – St. Marys, NSW, Australia
17a – Austin McCarl – Altoona, Iowa
17b – Bill Balog – North Pole, Alaska
17s – Sheldon Haudenschild – Wooster, Ohio
18 – Gio Scelzi – Fresno, Calif.
W20 – Greg Wilson – Benton Ridge, Ohio
21 – Brian Brown – Grain Valley, Mo.
21b – Christopher Bell – Norman, Okla.
22 – Cole Duncan – Lockbourne, Ohio
24 – Rico Abreu – St. Helena, Calif.
26 – Cory Eliason – Visalia, Calif.
28 – Tim Shaffer – Aliquippa, Pa.
39 – Sammy Swindell – Germantown, Tenn.
39m – Anthony Macri – Dillsburg, Pa.
41 – David Gravel – Watertown, Conn.
41s – Dominic Scelzi – Fresno, Calif.
49 – Brad Sweet – Grass Valley, Calif.
55 – Hunter Schuerenberg – Sikeston, Mo.
57 – Kyle Larson – Elk Grove, Calif.
67 – Buddy Kofoid – Penngrove, Calif.
69 – Brady Bacon – Broken Arrow, Okla.
70 – Cale Thomas – Fairland, Ind.
71 – Shane Stewart – Bixby, Okla.
72 – Daryn Pittman – Owasso, Okla.
83 – Spencer Bayston – Lebanon, Ind.
87 – Aaron Reutzel – Clute, Texas
99 – Skylar Gee – Leduc, ALB, Canada


Advertisement - Article Bottom