Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race Moving To Wisconsin

Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race
The All Star Circuit of Champions' Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race will have a new home this year. (Brendon Bauman photo)

BROWNSBURG, Ind. – The second annual Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race, sanctioned by the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions, will be contested May 30 at Plymouth (Wis.) Dirt Track.

The high-profile event, the second of three Wisconsin-based programs for the All Star Circuit of Champions during the final weekend of May, will also feature the stars of the Bumper-To-Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series.

If weather should become a factor, the event will be contested on Thursday, July 30.

Last year’s Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race was held at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.

“I am honored to once again work with Tony Stewart, the All Stars, and new this year, the IRA Series to host the second annual Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race,” said Kevin Rudeen of the Rayce Rudeen Foundation. “Additionally, I am happy to welcome back Speed Media, who will work with the series to promote the race and everything else that will partake during the event.

“The first Foundation race was a success. The grandstands were filled with awesome fans, the pits were lined with talented drivers, the racing was incredible, and we had an impressive podium finish in Tony Stewart, Rico Abreu and Christopher Bell,” added Rudeen. “With moving the event to Wisconsin this year, I look forward to seeing new teams and fans that will come out for the race.

“My family and I are so grateful and want to thank everyone for their support to the foundation and this event.”

Once again awarding a $26,000 top prize, the second-largest winner’s share on the 2020 All Star schedule, the high-stakes event boasts a total purse nearing $67,000, with a minimum of $800 being awarded to each main event starter.

Tony Stewart, a three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion and recent NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee, was the 2019 Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race champion at 34-Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.

“I’ve got a lot of respect for Kevin (Rudeen) and his initiatives through the Rayce Rudeen Foundation,” said Stewart, also the owner of the All Star Circuit of Champions. “We are really excited that the All Stars have been able to be a part of this event. Wisconsin is a great sprint car market and Steve (Sinclair) does an awesome job up there. I’m looking forward to getting up to Wisconsin for this event in May.

“Thank you to Kevin, Steve and all the parties involved in helping us put this together.”

Two-time and defending All Star Circuit of Champions titlist Aaron Reutzel is expected to be on hand to battle for the 2020 Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race crown.

Other full-time All Stars expected to make the journey include 2019 All Star Rookie of the Year Cory Eliason, three-time series winner Brock Zearfoss, Nashville native and sprint car veteran Paul McMahan, two-time series champion Greg Wilson, recent series winner and Pennsylvania native Gerard McIntyre Jr., former ASCS national champion Sam Hafertepe Jr., Canadian and former All Star winner Skylar Gee, former Macon Speedway All Star winner Justin Peck and 2020 All Star Rookie of the Year contender Zeb Wise.

Led by nine-time and defending champion and all-time series win leader Bill Balog, the IRA Outlaw Sprint Series is the predominant open wheel force in the Badger State and will prove to be a true challenge for the All Stars as they face-off for the largest winner’s share in Wisconsin sprint car history.

In addition to Balog, who boasts an incredible 114 IRA victories during his tenure, the IRA Outlaw Sprint Series will be represented by many of the Midwest’s finest, including Scotty Thiel, Jeremy Schultz, Scotty Neitzel, Jake Blackhurst, Russel Borland and Joey Moughan.

“The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series and Plymouth Dirt Track are extremely honored to be involved with the Rayce Rudeen Foundation event. A special thanks goes out to Kevin Rudeen for bringing this truly special event to Wisconsin. I’m so proud of our relationship with Tony, the All Star teams and their entire organization,” said IRA President and race co-promoter Steve Sinclair. “We’re going to do our best to make this a very special night for all involved.”

The Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race is one of three events on the All Star slate during the final weekend of May. The series will kick off the weekend with a visit to Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, Wis., on May 29, then cap their trip to the Badger State with a Sunday night visit to Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis., on May 31.

The events at Wilmot and Angell Park will each award $5,000 top prizes.


Advertisement - Article Bottom