Purses Increasing For Port Royal All Star Shows

Purses Increasing For Port
Port Royal Speedway will offer a $1,000 Warrior Award at events in 2021. (Dan Demarco photo)

PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Continuing a tradition that began in 1981, when Lynn Paxton won the first ever All Star Circuit of Champions-sanctioned event at Port Royal Speedway, the track will again host the Ollie’s Bargain Outlets All Star Circuit of Champions next season.

The series will visit the Juniata County oval three times for a combined six nights of racing action. Unique to the new season will be an increased purse for all events, highlighted by the Bob Weikert Memorial paying $29,000 to win for the finale.

Formed in 1970 as the first outlaw sprint car organization of the modern era, the All Stars have been a staple in Central Pennsylvania for decades.

The All Stars’ first visit to Port Royal will occur April 17, with the sixth annual Keith Kauffman Classic paying $8,000 to win for 410 sprint cars, a $2,000 increase on last year’s pandemic-postponed race.

The event honors Kauffman, a 24-time All Star winner and Port Royal Speedway’s all-time leading feature winner.

Joining the 410 sprint cars on the schedule for the Kauffman will be limited late models, racing for a $1,500 winner’s share.

Dale Blaney picked up the first ever Kauffman Classic checkered flag in 2016, followed by three straight victories for local legend Lance Dewease from 2017-19.

Last season, Anthony Macri broke Dewease’s stranglehold on the event as he scored his first career All Star victory over a charging Kyle Larson and Danny Dietrich.

A little over a month later, the All Stars will return to Port Royal as the track holds the annual Bob Weikert Memorial. The two-day event will occur May 29-30 and will pay $10,000 to win for the first night, followed by a race-record $29,000 on Saturday.

This is an increase of $19,000 from last year’s winner’s share, with the No. 29 representing the famed Weikert sprint car’s number.

Night one will feature the PA Sprint Series 305 sprint cars on the card, while the Wingless Super Sportsman will tag along for the finale.

The annual red, white and blue event has been held since 2003 and is a Memorial Day weekend staple that honors legendary car owner Bob Weikert. Last year’s event was moved to mid-July as a result of COVID-19.

The event first became a two-day spectacle in 2016 and the coveted ‘Steer Head’ trophy is one of the most sought-after trophies for drivers.

Last year served as a return to the event for the All Stars, after they most recently sanctioned it in 2015, and the purse increase guarantees that the Weikert will remain a premier event in the area.

Larson swept the Weikert in 2020 to earn the overall championship and the trophies.

Greg Hodnett (six), Fred Rahmer (two), Lucas Wolfe (two), Todd Shaffer, Lance Dewease, Jeff Shepard, Stevie Smith, Doug Esh, Cody Darrah, Danny Dietrich and Logan Wagner have all earned victories in the event.

The crown jewel event of the Port Royal season, the 54th annual Tuscarora 50, will once again be All Star sanctioned and will be held Sept. 9-11.

It will be the second consecutive season that the event will be three days and the Tuscarora 50 is one of the most tradition-laden races in the Keystone State.

Thursday night’s preliminary will pay $8,000 to win, which is a $2,000 increase from 2020. The PA Sprint Series 305 sprint cars will also be on the card.

Friday night’s ‘Night Before the 50’ will pay $10,000 to win, which is a $4,000 increase from 2020. The super late models will also be on the card.

Finally, representing the 54th annual running of the event, the Saturday night finale will pay a whopping $54,000 to the winner, marking a $1,000 increase from last year.

As is customary for the event, there will be a non-qualifiers feature that night as well.

Last year Cory Eliason and Lance Dewease (Night Before the 50) scored preliminary victories before Dewease etched his name further in the record books with his seventh career Tuscarora 50 triumph in the event.

The win gave Dewease an unprecedented win in the event in four consecutive decades.

Other past winners of the Tuscarora 50 are Fred Rahmer (four), Greg Hodnett (four), Doug Wolfgang (four), Mitch Smith (three), Lynn Paxton (three), Todd Shaffer (three), Don Kreitz Jr. (three), Doug Esh (two), Smokey Snellbaker (two), Bobby Allen (two), Keith Kauffman (two), Stevie Smith (two), and single winners Kenny Weld, Steve Smith, Jim Nace, Gary Howsare, George Ferguson Jr., Dave Blaney, Len Krautheim III, Mike Erdley, Brian Montieth, Brent Marks, Donny Schatz and Aaron Reutzel.


Advertisement - Article Bottom