Ohio Sprint Speedweek Through The Years

Ohio Sprint Speedweek Through
Ohio Sprint Speedweek has featured numerous memorable moments in its 37-year history. (Todd Ridgeway photo)

ATTICA, Ohio – The 38th edition of Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek is set to ignite Friday evening at Attica Raceway Park, but through the years, the Buckeye State tour has produced many exciting battles.

SPEED SPORT Editor-In-Chief Mike Kerchner took a deep-dive into the history books to look back on all 37 previous years of Ohio Sprint Speedweek and the winners and champions that were crowned within them.

Read on to brush up on your Ohio Sprint Speedweek history going into this week’s running!


Steve Kinser won five of the six races during the inaugural Ohio Sprint Speedweek in 1983, but Bobby Davis Jr. was crowned champion because Kinser was not pre-entered.

Steve Kinser (11) races Randy Wolfe at Sharon Speedway during the first All Star Circuit of Champions Ohio Sprint Speedweek. (Spekis Bros. photo)

Kinser won the $20,000-to-win finale at Eldora Speedway as the series was sanctioned by the All Star Circuit of Champions. He finished second to Randy Wolfe in the only race he didn’t win at Expo Speedway.

Kinser’s other four victories came at Quad City Speedway, Sharon Speedway, Mansfield Speedway and Fremont Speedway. He banked $35,500 for the week, while Randy Wolfe picked up the victory at Expo Raceway.


Steve Kinser won four times in seven nights to claim the Ohio Sprint Speedweek title that eluded him the previous year.

Kinser’s victories included the $20,000-to-win series finale at Eldora Speedway for the second year in a row. Tim Green, Dave Blaney and Bobby Allen also claimed victories.


Jack Hewitt won three times in seven nights to secure the third annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek title. Doug Wolfgang won round two at Wayne County Speedway, was injured in round four at Eldora Speedway and returned to action to win round six at Fremont Speedway.

Van May won the $10,000-to-win finale at Muskingum County Speedway and Kenny Jacobs won the feature at Eldora.


Bobby Allen claimed the Ohio Sprint Speedweek crown with two victories during the five-race series, as two events were rained out. Doug Wolfgang claimed the $10,000-to-win series finale at Eldora Speedway, while Dave Blaney and Keith Kauffman also visited victory lane.


Pennsylvania traveler Keith Kauffman won the opener of the fifth annual Ohio Speedweek at Millstream Speedway and rode the momentum to the series championship.

While rain shortened the series to six events, Doug Wolfgang claimed three victories, including the $10,000 top prize at Eldora Speedway. Bobby Allen also won a feature.


Jimmy Sills claimed the Ohio Speedweek championship without winning a single race, as six drivers won features, including Keith Kauffman, who earned a pair of victories.

Rickey Hood, who won the big-money race at Eldora Speedway, Kelly Kinser, Bobby Allen, Rod George and Rocky Hodges also won features.


Dave Blaney won three of the five races to earn the Speedweek title in convincing fashion aboard Verlin Chupp’s Challenger sprint car.

Rocky Hodges won twice, including the $10,000 Eldora biggie. Jack Hewitt and Todd Kane also visited victory lane during the seven-day stretch.


Sammy Swindell won five times in seven nights, including a $10,000 triumph in the series finale at Eldora Speedway, to claim his first Ohio Speedweek crown.

Fremont Speedway regular Tom Basinger scored an upset victory at Fremont, while Bobby Allen also claimed a victory.

Sammy Swindell scored one victory in 25 starts this season in various types of race cars. (Adam Fenwick Photo)
Sammy Swindell won back-to-back Ohio Speedweek championships. (Adam Fenwick photo)


Sammy Swindell became the first driver to earn back-to-back Ohio Speedweek crowns after winning three times in six races.

Ricky Hood won twice, including the $10,000 finale at Eldora Speedway, while Steve Siegel also visited victory lane.

The seventh race was rained out.


Kevin “The Pup” Huntley was the class of the field in winning the 10th annual Ohio Speedweek title.

Huntley won three times, including the finale at Eldora Speedway.

Bobby Allen picked up a pair of victories, while Ricky Hood and Terry Shepherd also visited victory lane.


Frankie Kerr did not win a single feature in seven nights of racing, but consistent finishes handed him the Speedweek crown.

Kevin Huntley and Rocky Hodges each won a pair of features, while Gary Wright, Johnny Mackison Jr. and Mark Keegan also triumphed.


Frankie Kerr won the penultimate round of Speedweek en route to his second consecutive series championship.

Kevin Huntley won a pair of features, including the big-money Eldora finale for the third straight Speedweek. Dale Blaney and Mark Keegan also visited victory lane. There were two rainouts.

To continue reading, advance to the next page.


Advertisement - Article Bottom