Doubleheader Weekend Next For All Star Sprints


BROWNSBURG, Ind. – Tony Stewart’s Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will activate the month of July in a big way this weekend, not only celebrating Independence Day with a two-race stint through Pennsylvania and Ohio, but visiting legendary venues in the process.

The weekend will hit high gear on Friday evening at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pa., an event originally slated for early May, but ultimately postponed due to poor weather.

A tradition dating back to the series’ conception, Lernerville Speedway first hosted the traveling All Stars in 1970 and has since welcomed the regional travelers for a total of 39 appearances. Tim Shaffer, a nearby Aliquippa-native and former All Star champion, owns four Series victories at Lernerville Speedway to lead all competitors. Reigning All Star champion, Aaron Reutzel, is the most recent hotshot to visit Lernerville Speedway victory lane during All Star competition, earning $5,000 on June 1, 2018.

After a mere-90 minute jaunt, the holiday weekend will continue for the All Stars with Sharon Speedway’s annual Lou Blaney Memorial on Saturday evening, July 6. Awarding a $6,000 top prize in 2019, the event honors the late National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee, as well as the father of Dave and Dale Blaney, Lou Blaney. In fact, Dave Blaney, Dale Blaney and Lou Blaney are all in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

Much like Lernerville Speedway, the All Stars first visited the Hartford, Ohio, complex in 1970, and also just like Lernerville Speedway, it was Ralph Quarterson earning the main event victory. Since Quarterson’s triumph, the All Stars made an additional 102 appearances, most recently on July 7, 2018 when the Dave Blaney earned the coveted Lou Blaney Memorial trophy, the second of his career.

Aaron Reutzel will lead the All Star charge into Pennsylvania and Ohio during the long holiday weekend. Not only is Reutzel the defending All Star champion, claiming top honors during his first, full year as a full-time traveler, but the pilot of the Baughman-Reutzel Motorsports No. 87 entry is also the current championship points leader and win leader, scoring his fourth victory of the season during action at Dirt Oval at Route 66 in Joliet, Ill., on Saturday, June 29.


Advertisement - Article Bottom